MAACO Franchise Complaints

MAACO Franchise Complaints at UnhappyFranchisee.com was originally published in July, 2012, and been updated and added to. The Maaco franchise has generated a number of complaints since this page was first posted… post your own Maaco franchise complaints or praise below… and read what others have to say about the MAACO franchise opportunity.

Are you familiar with the Maaco franchise opportunity? Please share a comment below.
Note: the opinions expressed are that of their respective commenters and not necessarily shared nor verified by Unhappy Franchisee.

MAACO Franchise Complaints

Bill B. wrote:

The concept is dated and the franchisor Driven Brands / Maaco / Meineke has lost site of what the franchisors part of the deal is. Everyone I went to training with was out of business by the third year. Maaco is constantly turning over franchisees. The new start-ups fail the quickest. If you walk away the equipment is usually bought at pennies on the dollar by other Maaco franchisees. By the time you figure out how bad a deal you’ve gotten yourself into with Maaco you have generally lost everything.

 

Harold M. wrote:

Maaco buries its failure stats by not counting failed re-sales as failures. Also they reuse center numbers so you can not see how many folks they have actually churned through. Further on any given week only about 300 of its franchisees report earnings so approximately 150 franchisees do not report earnings for some it is just a missed week. For most it means they do not have enough to pay royalty fees. The way disclosure is setup for Maaco’s offering circular they are then able to exclude the bottom 100 or so franchisees. You do your due-diligence only to find after the fact that the information is skewed to the top 75% of Maaco’s franchises.

 

Burned franchisee wrote:

Maaco is a total investment disaster. Do not consider investing in a new Maaco franchise unless you own the building free and clear. As mentioned above you will contibute up to 20% of your gross to fees and totally inept in house advertising group. No one in the advertsing group has a clue as to what will generate foot traffic other than offering your services at a 30% reduction in price over bonified body shops.

The Maaco business model is based on a churn and burn philosophy….resell failing shops or suckering in new “investors”. Trust me when I say this, you will regret investing in this franchise for the rest of your life, if you chose to do so. In the training class I was in, 6 out of 7 new franchisees went out of business within 9 months to 3 years. the last is holding on only because they are cooking the books as far as reporting to Corporate. Maaco will sue you for not completing the 15 year commitment, so if you can last that long have at it.

 More MAACO Franchise Complaints

Got Out 2 wrote:

20 years ago… I did desire to own a business and choose MAACO believing it was the best.

…Within 3 years, all of my classmates (11 of them) were out of business, some bankrupt, some broke, one did not even open and some just too beat up. None of them were out because they made it rich. Over the years the number of MAACO centers has declined, I made it through 18 years and the day I was free of them is when gained control of my life again…

I strongly recommend you do your due diligence before you make the leap into this franchise. All of the comments in this forum are very accurate. I would not take one of these if they gave it to me.

Share Your MAACO Franchise Complaints or Praise

maaco complaints

Are you familiar with the Maaco franchise opportunity?

Would you recommend the MAACO franchise opportunity to family or friends?

What is MAACO doing right?  Are things improving?

What do you think needs to improve  in the Maaco franchise system?

What steps should Maaco be taking to stop further franchise failures?

Please share a comment, opinion or insight below.

ARE YOU A MAACO FRANCHISE OWNER OR FORMER FRANCHISEE?  ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH THE MAACO FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITY?  PLEASE SHARE A COMMENT BELOW.

Contact UnhappyFranchisee.com



Tags:  MAACO Franchise Complaints, Maaco, Maaco franchise, Maaco complaints, automotive franchise,  franchise, franchise failure rate, auto franchise, worst franchise, franchise information, unhappy franchisee

66 thoughts on “MAACO Franchise Complaints

  • April 13, 2017 at 11:09 pm
    Permalink

    Ahmad Elsayed,

    Now that you have been “not getting rich , and making a living” for 5 years with this company, would you recommend it?

  • April 20, 2017 at 11:07 pm
    Permalink

    How long can these incompetents keep running a business that is an essential rip-off scheme? They churn and churn through people’s life savings but have not made anyone successful in 5+ years. Why aren’t these folks in jail? Make the bonus, screw your franchisees. Oh. pay themselves and the pirate equity owners, who cares if the folks who are foolish enough to buy their crap franchises lose their ass? Churn and Churn, management still gets their well deserved bonuses. 450 +/- franchisees 4 years ago 450+/- franchisees today. Where do all the franchisees go? Lose your life savings to these Frat Boys from other countries. The American Dream.

  • July 6, 2017 at 4:49 pm
    Permalink

    Ahmad Elsayed,

    In your prior post October 27, 2013, you were praising the concept, working on expanding. Of course you are a very hard worker and everyone else who has been screwed by Maaco are just a bunch of softies.

    Now, out of curiosity, is this your hard working self, getting sued by Maaco? What happened?

    Maaco Franchising, LLC v. Elsayed
    Filed: June 28, 2017 as 3:2017cv03711
    Plaintiff: Maaco Franchising, LLC
    Defendant: Ahmad Elsayed
    Cause Of Action: Diversity-Breach of Contract
    Court: Ninth Circuit › California › California Northern District Court
    Type: Contract › Franchise

    https://dockets.justia.com/docket/california/candce/3:2017cv03711/313589

  • February 24, 2018 at 9:30 pm
    Permalink

    Dear Maaco – Driven Brands – Is my franchise going to fail? Of course it is. but luckily we will find a buyer who will buy it for pennies on the dollar. We won’t help you salvage your life savings, or your shop, for that matter, but we will get to make another franchise fee while you watch your life savings swirl down the toilet. Don’t you worry about us at maaco/driven brands/roark capital – as long as we can find a few people each year to rip off we will live large. Thank you for the largess, we deserve your retirement, much more than you ever did,

  • October 11, 2018 at 10:21 pm
    Permalink

    Best thing I did was declare bankruptcy and get out. I was a franchise for three years, grossing over 1mil. Watched people lose it all in less than a year, but worse, watched folks barely hang on and sacrifice everything, homes, retirement, everything. and still walk away in their 8-9-10th year because they didn’t have anything else to pump into this franchise. I consider myself lucky walking away without losing my home or using all – just some – of my retirement investments trying to keep my mil.++ franchise afloat.

  • January 25, 2019 at 7:18 pm
    Permalink

    down 30-50 units this year. of course you can make it work, because you are sooooo much smarter than all the other folks who can’t make this crap franchise work. hmmmmmm!

  • January 25, 2019 at 7:19 pm
    Permalink

    down 30-50 units this year. of course you can make it work, because you are sooooo much smarter than all the other folks who can’t make this crap franchise work. hmmmmmm! good luck!

  • January 25, 2019 at 7:43 pm
    Permalink

    now they sold some pirate equity folks 30+ failing franchises in the south-east, bought for pennies-on-the dollar, only to figure out that they can only gross 500k or less per-unit. where is the rock star multi-unit franchise president that is going to make all this work? Jose Costa, scampered away from this crap franchise as soon as he made this multi unit deal.

  • January 25, 2019 at 8:18 pm
    Permalink

    when i bought my maaco franchise from tony martino he was a scum bag, a rich scum bag, but at very least he understood that to continue to be a rich scum bag, he needed to keep the people he was ripping off in business. the driven brands mba thieves who own maaco now just don’t get that. they just figure there is an endless supply of folks they can rip-off, so why not sell-sell-sell crap franchises?

  • January 27, 2019 at 7:54 pm
    Permalink

    Best way to own a Driven Brands / Maaco franchise?? Have a wife makes lots of money!

  • February 12, 2019 at 8:06 pm
    Permalink

    I still can’t figure out why they are all jacked-up about the idea they have over 500 franchised units when they have somewhere in the neighborhood of 450? Maaco has been-stagnant-failing for 20+ years, yet they still inflate their pump-and-dump numbers, and folks continue to buy this crap franchise. Makes no sense whatsoever. There is so little you can define about this B.S. franchise, but failing unit numbers is actually very easy to define.

  • February 13, 2019 at 9:43 pm
    Permalink

    8 years in, no real support, someone varying stops by every once in a while, 2 years or so, thinking just to make sure the shop is still open. They call every other week, like a bill collector, I owe them a lot of fees. No one seems to care that I am losing everything. Nobody I bought the shop from is still around, support is just a revolving door. wish I had never done this.

  • February 16, 2019 at 8:19 pm
    Permalink

    I had a successful maaco, not-very, but I survived. sold out after a few years, best decision I ever made. Unfortunately the guy I sold to was not able to keep it going. I heard once corporate got sold all they did was jack-up the weekly advertising fees past the point of individual owners being able to make anything.

  • February 18, 2019 at 10:57 pm
    Permalink

    even if they had the 500 franchises they talk about, which they don’t. it still means they have not grown the business since 1998? fail-fail-fail for over 20 years, but people still buy this franchise, because???

  • February 25, 2019 at 9:23 pm
    Permalink

    Great Franchise! If you are looking for a franchise to piss away your life savings, work 80+ hours a week, and then walk away after ten years bankrupt, then Maaco is the franchise for you.

    Don’t you worry about the 1,000 owners who have failed in this franchise in the past 10yrs., you’ve got what it takes to make it with no support, excessive franchise fees, exhorbitant advertising fees, questionably spent, if at all.

    I was stupid enough, I could do better than all the other failures.

    Learned a very tough lesson. I failed, pretty much like all the other suckers who have bought into this scheme over the past 20yrs.

  • March 9, 2019 at 12:23 am
    Permalink

    Still trying to figure out why this scam is called a “franchise”? you pay 1,500 a week, yes every, week no matter your revenue, to “advertising” (with no accounting for where that money goes) then you spend 8% of your revenue, every week, just for the joy of loosing everything you ever made in your life prior to owning this scam. After you give them 300K just for the privilege of losing all you have ever worked for to buy into their scam???

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *