WEIGHT WATCHERS ONLINE Consumer Complaints

Weight Watchers Online Consumer Complaints – Add yours below or read what others are saying.


Are you familiar with the Weight Watchers Online? Please share your experience – good or bad – with a comment below.

Before you sign up for any diet, weight loss or similar program, always do your due diligence and see what others are saying.

Also, be very careful about paying upfront for any program, products or service. 

Whenever possible, pay with a major credit card so that you can use their dispute resolution department if you don’t receive promised services or products.

Here’re some of the consumer complaints we’ve received about Weight Watchers Online.  Please share your experience below.

Gail Marshall wrote:

WW online is a SORRY SERVICE! On May 17th, I signed for 3 month of the site for $65. After just 6 days, I was getting tired of trying to remember every bite of food I ate and entering that in the journal each day. Besides that, it is just too much food to eat if you want to lose 10 lbs. I sent a cancellation request on May 23rd and found out today they are planning to give me $16.95 refund….. This is really poor service. Our country is trying to recover from a recession and WW online are deceiving customers by taking their money! Believe me, this is not over yet….. My money is just as important as their money.

gr8danelvr wrote:

I did the free 7 day etool online which expired yesterday. I had copied and pasted how to cancel the trial and put it in my outlook calendar so I knew when to cancel it. When I went through the steps, it didn’t give you an option to cancel the trial, it just states to cancel a one month or three month subscription. I chose the least time (one month) and then to my surprise, it said they had issued a refund of $16.10 to my credit card.

I knew that meant that they had charged me for a subscription so today I called the 1-800 number and the representative adv’d my card had been charged $64. and change. I told her I only was doing the 7 day free trial but couldn’t find an option to cancel the trial. She said no problem and issued a credit for $48.00 and change so that with the $16.10, cleared off the charge to my card.

nicole wrote:

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR WEIGHT WATCHERS ONLINE! BUYER BEWARE!

This company sells you a free membership and 3 months of online use for 57.00 – what they never tell you is that the site is lame – they give you an overflow of basic information and once you figure that out and try to cancel after a week or 2 they take all of your money! They charge you the sign up fee and then inflate the monthly membership.

They are so terrible, so terrible for lying and tricking people who want to loose weight! I am never going to look at that company the same. The diet does work, it is a good product but how they lie to you and steal from you in regards to the online site.. is outrages and should be against the law!

Alicia

Yes! Weight Watcher provides false advertising and using deceptive advertising on their website bait-n-switch! all I know is I wanted to try it for 7 days. It was very confusing to me and finding numbers on everything I ate. on 02/04 I tried the program under the impression that I was trying it for 7 days. they charge my card $53.85. I tried the program for 3 days and I did not like it. I went to the online portal to cancel my order on 02/09. The system stated that I would only get a refund for $5.95.

I called the 1-800 number and the operator stated that I was not on the 7 day plan and that I will only get $5.95. I explain to them that I am not interested in the service and that want to cancel it today and not use it for another month. As of this date, I have not received my refund and they have not cancelled my order. All I have been getting is emails from the cancellation department with a bunch of excuses.

ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH WEIGHT WATCHERS OR WEIGHT WATCHERS ONLINE?  PLEASE SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE BELOW.

Contact UnhappyFranchisee.com

37 thoughts on “WEIGHT WATCHERS ONLINE Consumer Complaints

  • January 3, 2013 at 12:28 pm
    Permalink

    I cancelled my online Weight Watchers service in August 2011 and they continued to bill my credit card $17.95 until November 2012. I have called and talked to several supervisors and they said they would take care of it. Well two months later and all they have done is credit my card for 6 of those 15 months they fraudulently kept billing. Another supervisor told me to fax my credit card statements and that he would send out the check of the remainder of the payments they owed to me. I got a call today from another lady Anne Russell and she told me that she is only able to credit me back 6 mos of payments. This is absolutely crazy and downright stealing from a consumer. This is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!

  • January 4, 2013 at 2:07 am
    Permalink

    Why are people talking about WW on a franchise site? WW is NOT a franchise. Write the Better Business Bureau, but please use this site for what it was intended. Perhaps the moderator of this site can remove this rather fishy complaint thread.

  • January 4, 2013 at 2:25 pm
    Permalink

    Now who would benefit from starting a cat fight about WW online diet plan which is currently being advertised for only $5 a week?

    Hmm, let’s think. It could be a franchise … who has developed a bad reputation on this forum … and their brand has become synonymous with old lady’s and out of shape people … and they are trying to burst into the diet business … and their name rhymes with swerves. Could it be they started this conversation?

    Nah … probably not. Probably just a coincidence.

  • January 9, 2013 at 9:21 am
    Permalink

    In all due respect to others opinions & experiences here, my experience is somewhat different with WW Online….

    I recently purchased an online subscription for my wife and when I did so I felt the terms were pretty clear and I personally felt it probably made sense that if you only pay for 1 month it would cost more. You know, considering you could easily learn the program very quickly, collect all the information and cancel the membership, as I’m sure tons of people do? I mean without even reading the subscription agreement, if you go to the website right now it says in plan site that you’re pretty much on the hook for $48.90 if you sign up?

    I personally feel all diets are scams to begin with, so excuse me if I’m skeptical that the compliants aren’t moreso people not reading the terms of the agreement before signing up, which would be your fault even if it was a scam.

    PS. To the person that paid for 15 months via credit card, you’re blowing my mind here and you shouldn’t have credit available to you. You realize you could simply dispute the charges through your credit card company if you truly cancelled your subscription right?

  • February 7, 2013 at 12:19 pm
    Permalink

    WW sure make it hard to cancel subscriptions , they have being charging me for months with out my authorization , I have being on the phone for 50 or so minutes at a time and no one comes to the phone I only get the recorder saying that my wait time is one minute and that a representative will be with me shortly …three days of calling and I have to hang up because after an hour my phone runs out of battery …..they make tons of money , I don’t understand why they want to make more this way …..

  • April 10, 2013 at 5:08 am
    Permalink

    whatit’s about. I was pressured by a coworker to join at work It’s not just online. Weight watchers uses the peer pressure ofgroup mentality to get you to buy their products because thatis what it’s really about. I was pressured but a coworker to join at work. After two weeks I knew it wasn’t for me and asked how to basically qwerty and stop having $26 taken out of each paycheck. I was told they took my name of the invoice bring sent to my company but that I had to return all materials I had purchased. This was after two full months and over $100 in membership weekly fees still being taken out of my check. So I returned the items.because they are so slow they had not charged my card yet. Three days later they charged me for the items I returned at their request. I’m still getting the money taken out of my check and have yet to see the money back that was taken after all items were returned, including the online e told code card…which I hadn’t even scratched the code off of.

  • April 16, 2013 at 10:36 am
    Permalink

    I don’t like the new commercial for ww the lady in red and purple . I belong to WW for 16weeks now . That commercial is so uncool no class iam embarrass to say I belong to ww when I see that commercial., where is the CLASS

  • April 25, 2013 at 8:46 am
    Permalink

    Weight Watchers online has been a huge disappointment. The website is over-the- top with recipes and no direct plan to tell you what to eat for meals so that you don’t go over your allotted points for the day. When I called to cancel well within the 2-week free trial period I was given the run around. First online they only wanted to refund me $7 and some change so I called them. They then refunded $18.95 and told me in order to get the rest I would have to print the refund form from their website and mail it in. Well, the form doesn’t print from their website so you have to call again. After 2 more calls, I was told the form would be emailed to me by the end of the business day. I am waiting to see if that happens.

  • April 25, 2013 at 10:20 pm
    Permalink

    Is Weight Watchers a franchise?

    Anyway, I like WW online. Especially love the smart phone app for easy tracking and the scanner function so I can scan packaged foods. What to eat is up to you. But the point system helps you make smart choices as you learn to budget your points. I had joined online once before and had no trouble at all cancelling when I wanted to. Just joined again. And their new commercials are really terrific.

    I have no financial interest in WW and I’ve never worked for them. However,I know a lot of women who have successfully reached their goal using WW.

  • November 12, 2013 at 1:43 pm
    Permalink

    Weight Watchers of Philadelphia (W W of P) continued to take money from my bank account for dues, after I terminated from the program. I CONTACTD Weight Watchers Internarional to complain about my problem , and they informed me that they had no jurisdiction over WW of Philadelphia, and referred me back to WWofP. After going through the various channels at WWof P to resolve my issue, they refused to return my money. I than asked for A meeting with the President, after givi g me the run arround for several weeks she refused to meet and discuss my problem. I became so stressed out and ill over the issue of thinking that some one could rob you like that, and have no remorse. I got depressed, because I did not know where else to turn. Today day, when I saw this web site I received a sense of hope. Can someone direct me . I would like to know what I can do to get my money back that was taken without my permission.

  • January 26, 2014 at 12:18 pm
    Permalink

    On 1/23/14 I shopped at Price Rite store in Willimantic, CT 06226.
    While I was there I purchased a box of Weight Watchers Dark Chocolate Dulce de Leche’. This box included six bars. I came straight home and put the box in my freezer. When I took a bar from the box, the ice cream was not frozen. Since that time I have eaten the rest but I needed to use a spoon and a bowl. The sticks would not stay in the ice cream. They would not freeze. I checked other items and everything else was frozen solid. Is there an explanation for this?

    With Regards,

    Pat Boyington

  • March 9, 2014 at 8:32 pm
    Permalink

    My biggest complaint is that why do you always get stars to advertise weight loss?
    Here I am for years trying to lose weight and those stars have all kinds of money to do it whatever way they choose, I would love to be a rep for weight watchers and maybe ordinary women like myself would pay more attention. I did join our local club and I didn’t feel the “love” or like they cared so I quit and quite frankly I can’t afford it but so desperately want to lose weight and I don’t think it’s fair that the stars have that opportunity when they can afford it. Just venting!

  • July 25, 2014 at 5:54 am
    Permalink

    I joined in person because ive always had great results before. Didnt work, I called to cancel my subscription. The plan was not the most expensive of their prepaid plans. I was told it would be cancelled. I found today that theyve been charging me $49 a month for almost a year. Bad business practice! Filed with my banks fraud dept. This past week I received a “we miss you..come bank” note from them. No frigging way.

  • August 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm
    Permalink

    I have been buying English toffee crunch bars for yrs. since
    this summer, I have had difficult with these ice cream bars.
    every box I have bought since around june this year, I have had the
    ice cream fall right off the stick, every one of the bars are useless to
    me if I can’t even enjoy eating one bar without wearing a napkin on my
    blouse to prevent it from smearing all over my clothes. what’s up with
    your product? I will not purchase anymore if this continues.

  • September 3, 2014 at 11:27 am
    Permalink

    When the box says tuna noodle cassarote I think there really should b tuna in it…The box i made today had one small crmb I called and they didnt care what I had to say… Last time i buy ww foods I been buying that product for yrs and i know there should b tuna in it

  • September 22, 2014 at 10:49 am
    Permalink

    I received a bad batch of the Slow Roasted Turkey Breast meal. The potatoes were runny and lumpy. 25800 02320 bar code

  • October 5, 2014 at 1:34 pm
    Permalink

    I am here to address the large turn over of speakers. I just heard that one of the most fantastic speaker was terminated at the Josselyn Center in Alhambra Calif. She has been an inspiration to many people. She lost 120lbs and kept it off for 15 years. She fought breast cancer. She comes to our meetings with such good energy and brightens our day. She has given us hope and made us see that all things are possible, She makes each and every one of us feel that we are friends , not just an employee customer relationship. Why she was terminated will not be explained to us, but weight watchers made a big mistake. Just when people click with their speakers they move them or let them go. The right speaker can make or break you. Weight watchers doesn’t sell itself ! I don’t think this the right place to post something like this, all I saw was complaints and here I am.

  • October 6, 2014 at 6:21 pm
    Permalink

    After only 3 days and cancelling my membership I get back a big 7.95. This is total crap!!!!

  • November 10, 2014 at 8:19 am
    Permalink

    I buy weight watches for my son
    Today I decided to have a weight watches meal with my son due to geting home later than expected.
    While eating my meal I found hair in my meal and couldnt eat the rest.
    It was pretty much off putting and had to bin the rest of the meat which I was enjoying
    Bar code 9300657790684
    All though I do enjoy the meals and I only for them for my son as he adhd and he enjoys the meals.
    Thank you

  • November 10, 2014 at 9:28 am
    Permalink

    I bought a sub-scribtion for a friend for a 6 month trail. I found I was being charged after the 6 month I did not agree to. I can’t even get the emails to stop because ther is not un-subcribe on the website. I called and got the monthly charges stopped but could not get the emails to stop

  • February 1, 2015 at 10:22 pm
    Permalink

    There is no unsubscribe on the [weight watchers] website, so consequently I have not been able to stop the monthly emails coming through. I called to cancel, they are still taking money. Do NOT sign up with this company!

  • February 3, 2015 at 4:39 pm
    Permalink

    this wars my first day at weightwatchers in Rancho MirageCa.I wantet to pay cash for 1 month , ther told me you have to have a credit card, I ask what is rong with
    cash?? the Lady ther told me you need to go on line to get a #TO SING IN FOR
    NEXT TIME, YOU DONT HAVE A # DONT COME BACK !! DONT
    DOT SIGN UP WITH WEIGHTWATCHER !!

  • October 19, 2015 at 6:51 pm
    Permalink

    Since Oprah is now represented Weight Watchers, I decided to sign up again.

    One of the options on the Weight Watchers homepage is “Meetings + OnlinePlus”. I clicked on that option, entered my zip code, 19130, Philadelphia to find a meeting. I clicked on a location near me. Next step was to press the “Start Now” button. I click on that. A new page pops up with a pop up that says, “Would you like to purchase Fast Pass now?” It gives no other info but remember, I started this process by clicking the “Meetings + OnlinePlus” option. So I give my credit card info, pay $49.95 and create a password.

    All set, right?

    When I go to use my password for the OnlinePlus option it doesn’t work. I call. The Philadelphia franchise woman tells me my $49.95 only covers meetings, not OnlinePlus. But if I had know this before, I would only have signed up for OnlinePlus because I love it and it’s easier to access than meetings. I tell her I would like a refund. Mind you, this is 15 minutes after signing up. She says that if I don’t go to any meetings my card will be refunded on November 19. Of course I want my money back now, as I would with any erroneous retail purchase. She says no.

    I check online, and see my order will be cancelled as of Nov 19 but is still active until then. I’m predictably irate. I call Weight Watchers International but they can do nothing about it. “Chris” gives me the number of the Philadelphia Franchise office, claiming it’s a better number than I called before. I call it. It’s the same: 215-648-1000. So. My choice is to not go to the meetings, call them and say I didn’t go to any meetings and try to get my $49.95 back on Nov 19 (I can hear them telling me that’s not their fault, can’t you?), or just go to the meetings to get my money’s worth at least.

    I went to the meeting. The leader is great, but I am not returning after November 19th. Too bad, because I’ve been a lifetime member since 1997. I formerly attended meetings in New Jersey, so was not aware of the Philadelphia Franchise and it’s deceptive practice of forcing southeastern PA members to buy meetings and online services separately to get more money.

    I would not have had a problem with this if they had made it clear from the start. Here is a link to the franchise page, As you can see it says nothing about Online Plus. Customers are just magically supposed to know it’s not part of the deal, even when they access this page from the Weight Watchers International Home Page from clicking on Meetings + OnlinePlus. This is fraud.

    ADMIN Note: If you have a dispute with a company and paid with a credit card, call your credit card company immediately. I’m no fan of credit card companies, but have been impressed by their advocacy on behalf of their cardholders. In this case, I’m certain they would have charged back the initial charge.

  • November 23, 2015 at 7:59 pm
    Permalink

    I am very concerned about chemicals in some of the weight watchers products. I purchased Blackberry Fruties. They contain aspertame, acesulfame k and phenylalanine. Why would they use these chemicals in these soft candies. I threw mine away after I did some research. I see they are manufactured in ITALY.

    I honestly don’t think that these are healthy and I thought that weight watchers promotes a healthy lifestyle and eating healthy.

    Can you let me know why they use these chemicals.

    Thank you
    Karol Kelley

  • November 25, 2015 at 3:37 am
    Permalink

    I don’t understand how a multi billion dollar company can put out a brand new online food tracker that has so many problems. If my employees put out this kind of a product, I would have fired them. We are paying them so that they can put out this kind of an unacceptable food tracker? How very unethical! No wonder Oprah had to bail them out.

  • December 3, 2015 at 12:42 pm
    Permalink

    I totally agree with Susan….someone should be fired for releasing an update with so many flaws. 2 weeks after the launch, they are still not resolved. It’s extremely frustrating. At the very least, WW should extend memberships for a free month

  • December 9, 2015 at 1:57 pm
    Permalink

    I am disgusted having signed up for weight watchers online and have not been able to record for several days at a time. I only signed up three weeks ago and so don’t know the system well enough to count manually. It’s, basically, a money making scam and I want my money back. If the site would work adequately, I would complain and do that. Don’t sign up, if you are thinking about it!

  • December 14, 2015 at 10:17 am
    Permalink

    My daughter and I joined Weight Watchers in Belleville on line Sept. 03/2015. But didn’t join our meeting until Sept. 12/2015. We were given the flyer “Lose 10lbs on Us!” and told by our leaders here is an added incentive. On the flyer it says Join and purchase a Meeting or Online Plan by October 26th, lose 10lbs within your first two months and GET TWO MONTHS BACK! Well to make a long story short we both lost the 10lbs, but when it came to getting the 2 Months back they decided we didn’t qualify because we joined on line 4 days to early! It says nothing like that on their advertisement! Nor did our Leaders know! False Advertising as far as I am concerned!

  • March 29, 2016 at 9:25 am
    Permalink

    I have heard of all kinds of horror stories related to “illegal” charges on credit cards people have provided Weight Watchers with. I have never purchased online or pre-paid monthly passes so to date WW does not have my credit card info. However, now that I am Lifetime, I have been provided with a pass code to access e-Tools FREE for 8 weeks but in order to get that free service I am required to provide a credit card number. WHY?? Because it is a scam — if I (or any other WW Lifetime member) doesn’t obtain another pass code before that 8 weeks expires, then WW will charge the next month’s e-Tools fee to the credit card.

    I think the Consumer’s Bureau should investigate this as a kind of fraudulent theft —-if a person doesn’t enter a new pass code, thne the subscription should stop. In my opinion, this type of billing should be illegal. When Weight Watchers was started by Jean Nidetch, it’s primary goal was to help people lose weight & get healthy. Today the primary goal of WW is to make money — the weekly fees have skyrocketed so that the people who most need to lose weight can’t even afford it. And now the corporation has resorted to fraudulent billing to line it’s coffers.

    Jean would be so ashamed of what her little company has become.

  • April 5, 2016 at 6:09 am
    Permalink

    I’ve learned that WW is publishing in their May/June magazine nude pictures of woman that have lost weight. I did a little research and found the article that also published in the UK. As a WW member I’m dissappointed that WW would stoop to this level of advertisement. If this article is published in the May/June magazine, I will cancel my membership. WW is it really that important show nude woman in your magazine, I see no point in doing this, instead show as you have in the past their before and after pics and their story. You have stooped to a new low and it’s going to cost you members. Do you really think it was worth it?

  • June 24, 2016 at 7:23 am
    Permalink

    I have been requesting my account be closed for the past 3 months. I have provided the information requested as they claim I have two accounts and they don’t know which one is associated with the current account. My initial cancellation was requested through the current account and I provided my account number. I then provided my DOB as requested. I have an email trail documenting of my requests to cancel my account. I have had a similar problem with Weight Watchers before. I feel this is part of their business practice; to make it difficult to close account in order to continue to collect funds. I have had to place a stop payment on my bank account.

  • September 22, 2016 at 3:41 pm
    Permalink

    That must be the only way they are staying afloat.
    I joined for 50 something and got a half ass free “starter kit”(one plate broke right away).
    In 7 days I voiced my unhappiness and they refunded me 9 dollars!

  • October 24, 2016 at 5:21 pm
    Permalink

    First been with Weight Watches for years lost 80lbs But the program keeps changing and I don’t think for the good.

    New items to buy when the plan changes,and the paper tracker is paper thin, everything is getting skimpie. I am from the old school and still do my tracker on paper..Not interested on the Apt for my phone..

    I weigh in every week, and now they are planning to close my meeting place, do to not many people showing up..this is so unfair for the lifetime members who want to weigh in..my meeting in Port Charlotte Florida is on Thursday at 6:00 PM.. Many of us work and the evening works well for us..

    They seam to be catering to those who are on line which get you locked in rather then those who want to stay and pay as you go..also my leader is still trying to get me to sign up for eTools. At my last meeting we where told our next meeting may be our last for evenings, but I felt it was so unfair that they where signing up costumers to join online and then telling the class this meeting may be closing..How unfair is that.

    Now there having classes for those who are on line to learn how to use the app..my meeting has changed a lot it was fun and other leaders would have show and tell. I brought in a pair of shorts 4x and and I fit in one leg and another member fit in the other leg. Members would be called up to talk about their success stories and how it changed their life’s..now it’s all about the apt and eTools..

    I saw a big change when they started on line joining and the apt. Before the new change the meeting was full..

  • November 9, 2016 at 6:10 am
    Permalink

    I have been a weight watcher member since february 2016 i have lost 2 stone which i am very pleased about but there is 1 complaint i do have i have been trying to change bank details for about 5 weeks and i can only do it on line but every time i tried to get into weight watchers page it appears i put in the wrong password but i know my password so I contact customer services and they sent me an email to change my password which i did and hey! hey! it still tells me it is incorrect so I phoned customer services again to day and went through the whole procedure again and hey! hey! it still doesn’t work so I have no option but to cancel my direct debit and wait to hear from yourself and change my bank details I am very disappointed and if it wasn’t for the fact I have another 3 stone to loose I would be leaving.

  • December 27, 2016 at 9:44 pm
    Permalink

    Please get Oprah off of the commercial. It is so sickening. She does not look she has lost a pound.
    All the commercial is doing is making a joke out of weight watchers.

  • February 27, 2017 at 9:30 am
    Permalink

    My friends all joined and I was very enthusiastic about it so I joined for 3 months. I went online to see what products they sold that were not at the WW center. I ordered $92.00 worth of stuff. It came in 2 boxes , they could have fit it all in one box. The mini-bar value pack was missing. Instead I got a measuring spoon set. I called WW the same night I got the boxes. I was on the phone for 45 minutes while the customer service person sent an email to someone who handles this sort of thing. She told me his name was Stephen and that he would contact me by phone within 48 hours. Never heard from Steven. I decided I would call again about 3 days later. Now I got some guy who told me that if he put in a new complaint or whatever its called I would have to start all over and it would take longer. He told me 7 to 10 days I would be contacted. No one called me. Now I called again I spoke to this woman told her my story she put in a new request and told me someone would call me. Now I asked her when would this be and she told me 7 to 10 days. I received my order with the missing bars on 1/19/17 it is now 2/27/17 and have not received an call or anything in regards to the missing products in the box. A ton of emails for bull crap. At first I wanted the bars not the $32.00, but now I’m really pissed off! If you have some knuckleheads packing those boxes I can imagine how many people don’t get all their stuff. I can also imagine people get tired of waiting for some non existent person to call them. Do you think I’m lying about some mini bars? I bought stuff online for years Macys, Amazon,
    Overstock, Wayfair too many to go on and I have NEVER not received what I paid for.
    Your return and customer service policy is set up for people not to get their money back. I will never buy another thing from WW again. I also will tell everyone I know not to buy from you on line or your products. I will write about this on Facebook, I can promise you that. I might not get my $32.00 back but you will lose more than that. I also think Oprah should know the kind of company her image is represents.

  • June 5, 2018 at 7:09 am
    Permalink

    I tired to cancel my subscription in March and I couldn’t find a number to call. I had to email them. They response back with they will cancel my August. They continue to take money out my account. I put in a complaint to my bank. They too tired to contact Weight Watcher and my bank couldn’t get a hold of them. I got my money back. Now , in June weight watcher is taking the money back. I contact again asking that I requested a cancellation and they were like oh, to avoid the cancellation fee we will continue to charge you. Hello, it cost more to continue to charge me versus canceling me. I sent them another email telling them I want to cancel now! not in August but in March!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *