MERLE NORMAN Franchise Complaints

The Merle Norman Cosmetics franchise has a relatively high SBA franchise loan default rate of 24%.  Merle Norman is listed by the SBA among the worst franchises by SBA loan default.

Are you familiar with the Merle Norman franchise opportunity? Please share a comment – positive or negative – below.

According to the Small Business Administration, Merle Norman franchisees have received 114 SBA-guaranteed loans; nearly a quarter of those loans have been defaulted on by Merle Norman franchise owners.

Merle Norman has an SBA franchise loan default rate of 24%

According to the Merle Norman Franchise Disclosure Documents (FDDs), in 2007 there were 1752 Merle Norman franchise studios in the U.S.  By 2011, that number had declined to 1363 U.S. franchises, a reduction of 389 franchises or a decline of 22%.

Are you familiar with the Merle Norman franchise opportunity?

What do you think accounts for the SBA loan failure rate of Merle Norman franchise owners?

What steps should Merle Norman be taking to stop further franchise failures?

Have Merle Norman taken serious action to address the problems that led to the 24% loan failures?

Please share a comment, opinion or insight – positive or negative – below.  Company rebuttals welcome.

ARE YOU A MERLE NORMAN COSMETICS FRANCHISE OWNER OR FORMER MERLE NORMAN FRANCHISEE?  ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH MERLE NORMAN FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITY?  PLEASE SHARE A COMMENT BELOW.

Contact UnhappyFranchisee.com

Tags:  Merle Norman, Merle Norman Cosmetics, Merle Norman franchise, Merle Norman Cosmetics franchise, Merle Norman franchise complaints, Merle Norman complaints, franchise opportunity, cosmetic franchise, beauty salon franchise, failure rate, worst franchise, sba failure rates, SBA franchise loans, franchise information, unhappy franchisee

12 thoughts on “MERLE NORMAN Franchise Complaints

  • March 28, 2013 at 9:21 am
    Permalink

    dear Merle,
    I have used your makeup since my early 20’s( I am now 70). I have been a loyal customer and enjoy your products. Recently though my makeup containers are breaking. I thought it was a fluke but it happens each time I purchase a new compact or anything that is in an open and close compact. What is going on ?

  • July 27, 2013 at 2:23 pm
    Permalink

    I too have been a loyal customer for 30 years and since the packaging has changed every single container breaks off at the hinges. This is so frustrating and time consuming in the morning trying to re-hinge these lids only to have them fall apart again. I think they should go back to the original total compact finish containers but make them black.

  • September 7, 2013 at 10:43 am
    Permalink

    I have been using the brow powder for years and then new containers are breaking at the hinges. This has now happened to three and I bought a total of 6, three brown and three grey. I am so disappointed. My rep has retired and there’s not a lot I can do.

  • March 30, 2014 at 6:35 pm
    Permalink

    I HAVE USED YOUR MAKE UP FOR YEARS .BUT CAN NEVER SEEM TO GET YOUR FREE GIFTS. I BUY IN TUCSON ,AZ. JUST PURCHASED $132.80 FROM YOUR 7927 N O ORACLE STORE BUT TOLD THEY WERE OUT. I ALSO PURCHASE IN MURRELLS INLET, SC AND HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO GET A FREE GIFT THERE. THIS IS VERY DISCOURGEING. I WONDER IFTHEY JUST GIVE THEM TO SPECIAL PEOPLE. PATRICIA R JOHNSON

  • May 12, 2014 at 6:43 pm
    Permalink

    Thank you for NOT TESTING YOUR PRODUCTS ON ANIMALS!

  • October 29, 2015 at 11:40 am
    Permalink

    I have been using your products for almost 50 years, I have bought it everywhere I have livedm California, Arizona, Oklahoma and Texas. I live in Lubbock, Texas. There are two stores here and every time I go, they are out, I have gone by the last three weeks and their shelves are bare, and the lady is quite rude. I have going to travel to the nearest store in Plainview, Texas to get products, I will not go back to the Lubbock stores, I will have to buy other products or just travel, I am not happy.

  • December 3, 2015 at 6:24 pm
    Permalink

    I am a former Merle Norman employee and I am extremely unhappy with my brief experience working as a beauty advisor. Beauty advisors are NOT there to help you find the best makeup/skincare for you in the store; we basically push products on customers and the managers would get angry if a customer did not purchase more than one item at a time. Aside from this, their best selling mask Miracol did not have the ingredients listed on the label, and neither my manager or assistant manager would tell me what it contained so I looked it up for myself. It has a nasty chemical mix of parabens and Sodium borate in addition to some other ingredients that you DEFINITELY do not want soaking into your skin for 20 minutes. I had to open and close the store alone which was dangerous considering the area and the fact that I have absolutely no experience with self defense. The managers were extremely difficult to deal with; I ended up quitting because they would not reduce my hours temporarily for the weekend, or even negotiate a schedule change, so that I could have a bit of extra time to study for finals. The icing on the cake was when I stopped to pick up my final paycheck and they did not include the commission I earned over the pay period. I am seeking legal action and I advise everyone to stay away from this disgusting company that is scamming customers and overworking employees.

  • January 6, 2016 at 5:41 pm
    Permalink

    I’m a Merle Norman consumer for over 16 years. EVERYTHING has been nothing but top quality UNITL I received your mascara and eyeliner gift set, which comes with 2 WICKED mascaras, primer, and 2 Twist and Point eye liners. The eyeliners are terrible! I took one back because the product was stuck inside and they replaced it with a used sample, since they said they couldn’t replace it because it came in a gift set. As soon as I used it, the product broke and I couldn’t get more to twist out so I used my other one and it broke too! WHAT’S GOING ON! They’ve been in my purse since Christmas, and I’m using my old cheap ones! PLEASE replace mine with with the old retractable ones or ones that sharpen. I’ll be glad to send these back at your request…..
    Sincerely,

    DISAPPOINTED!

  • August 11, 2016 at 9:11 am
    Permalink

    I have been using Merle Norma for over 20+ years. I use several of Merle Norman Products but I have been disappointed in a few of the products. Eye color Quad (Love Letter) can not be opened without using a file to open the latch. Also, the waterproof eyeliner pencils (java, earthly and blackout) can not be sharpened after you reach a few inches, which the pencil is wasted and thrown away. I will have to be going back to another source, since I am unhappy with the result of these products, I would hope you correct the problems of these items.

  • August 26, 2016 at 1:37 pm
    Permalink

    Merle Norman 840 Glynn St S, Fayetteville, GA 30214 is in filth. Does not pay employees.

  • December 13, 2016 at 2:26 am
    Permalink

    My wife was refused service or I should say she was out of the house the first time recovering from breast cancer. On a walker because she was unable to walk without one. There was a younger woman and the YOUNG LADY associate told my wife she would have to wait until she helped the younger person . Her demeanor was condescending and flippant. I,mean a 25 year military and disabled veteran. I have never seen such treatment of a disabled person. The location was McCain Mall 3829 McCain Blvd North Little Rock AR 72116 email address [redacted]. my next email is to the disability advocate and news media.

  • June 25, 2018 at 12:53 pm
    Permalink

    Don’t buy a franchise-all for Merle Norman
    No perks for the franchise owner
    The Home offline is located in Los Angeles
    California
    Many other franchises that are so much better
    Basically Merle Norman is a greedy company

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *