MUSCLE MAKER GRILL Franchise Complaints

Muscle Maker Grill franchise complaints include struggling, failing and unhappy franchise owners.

Are you a Muscle Maker Grill franchise owner, employee or customer?  Please share your view of the Muscle Maker Grill franchise below.

Muscle Maker Grill(UnhappyFranchisee.Com)  The Muscle Maker Grill franchise system, founded by Rod Silva and headquartered in Colonia, New Jersey,  claims to be a rapidly growing success story.

According to a recent company press release:

Muscle Maker Grill®, a fast-casual restaurant franchise that serves freshly prepared meals with its guests’ health in mind, announces it has signed 13 franchise agreements to develop 22 locations throughout the country.

.

Among the 22 franchises, which raises the total number of Muscle Maker Grill locations under development to 220, are the brand’s first Nebraska, Arizona, Nevada and North Carolina restaurants.

.

“This is a significant achievement for Muscle Maker Grill and we are thrilled to report our steady growth and continued expansion into the Midwest and West,” said Rod Silva, founder of Muscle Maker Grill. “Our truly unique concept of great food with your health in mind is gaining popularity throughout the U.S. We look forward to helping each of our new franchisees grow their local presence with unparalleled corporate support.”

Are Muscle Maker Grill Franchises Successful?

Muscle Maker Grill Franchise

Muscle Maker Grill has 70 locations listed as open on its website.

It’s press release states that it has 220 locations “under development” and will open 100 locations in the next few years.

But is Muscle Maker Grill’s hunger for growth stronger than its concern that every franchise location succeed?

The franchise failure/termination rate already appears to have reached about 14%.

The 2013 Muscle Maker Grill Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) indicates that of the73 Muscle Maker Grill franchise restaurant locations that opened between 2010 and 2012, 10 (14%) failed or were terminated.

As some of those franchises were newly opened, it seems likely that failure rate will increase.

Each Muscle Maker Grill franchise represents an investment between $179,500 – $430,000.

Some of the franchise locations that have been deleted from the Muscle Maker Grill location list include:

  • Miami, FL
  • Chelsea, NY  (92 8th Ave.)
  • Englewood, NJ
  • Long Branch, NJ
  • Matawan, NJ
  • Montclair, NJ
  • West Caldwell, NJ
  • Austin, TX

We hope Muscle Maker Grill franchise owners, employees and customers will share their thoughts and experiences (anonymous is fine) so prospective franchisees can make more informed decisions.

See the full Muscle Maker Grill press release here:

MUSCLE MAKER GRILL Franchise Announces Aggressive Growth Plans

ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH THE MUSCLE MAKER GRILL FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITY?  PLEASE SHARE A COMMENT BELOW.

Contact UnhappyFranchisee.com

TAGS: Muscle Maker Grill, Muscle Maker Grill franchise, Muscle Maker Grill franchise complaints, Muscle Maker Grill complaints, healthy fast food, Rod Silva

90 thoughts on “MUSCLE MAKER GRILL Franchise Complaints

  • February 21, 2015 at 7:27 pm
    Permalink

    @newbuyer most stores are not making 500k a year and those that are doing so are in high rent areas. Their are plenty of reasons why so many are closing, in my opinion it is because of lack sales and a very dull menu that has not changed in 20 years. Plus health food is a fad and fads die very quickly. The name is a turn off to many and the perception of most people is that this place is full of meat
    head gym rats. The MMG corporation does little to assist you. There training staff is a bunch of no bodies who I would not allow in my kitchen on a bad day. Each store has their own way of doing things so constincy is a huge problem and is another reason. I wish you the best but i would be amazed if you made 25k a salary

  • February 24, 2015 at 11:57 am
    Permalink

    @newbuyer, mmg ruined my life’s comments are correct. You will not make money running one of these restaurants. I urge you, read the comments posted to this website very carefully. They are all valid complaints about the lack of profit potential in this system. Then ask yourself, if this business is such a great opportunity why have so many of the locations closed. Then obtain a copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document and contact every current and former franchisee, ask them hard questions. If you still want to throw your money away on a Muscle Maker Grill restaurant then I suggest you take the money you are planning to use for buying this business and donate it to a worthy charity so you no longer have it to waste on a Muscle Maker.

  • March 10, 2015 at 1:41 pm
    Permalink

    My friend owns 3 Muscle Maker Grill franchises for many years now and is VERY HAPPY. I think the posts here are just 1 or 2 unhappy franchisees that perhaps didn’t understand how to run a business and are now trying to blame MMG. I mean come on you can’t verify and posts on this site because you can’t leave any contact info…hmm. I guess that’s the purpose of this site, as every franchise business ever started including McDonalds is complained about on here. Just a thought.

  • March 11, 2015 at 9:39 am
    Permalink

    @Mike M. Really Mike, i have a list of 25 people who lost there life savings with MMG. Your a liar…

  • March 11, 2015 at 3:49 pm
    Permalink

    Manahawkin, NJ – Closed

  • March 15, 2015 at 4:58 pm
    Permalink

    I’m a customer at MMG, I go there at least 3 times a week and I go to various locations. I must say, some are better then others. An example would be I often get the XXL wrap. All the locations except the Manahawkin location diced up a 2 turkey burgers and the wrap is delicious. However the Manahawkin location browned up ground turkey instead and the wrap was horrible. Manahawkin’s hours were never consistent, seemed like they opened and closed whenever they wanted to. I’m not surprised they closed down. I like all the food at MMG, long live MMG !

  • April 1, 2015 at 12:01 am
    Permalink

    There is always a great risk involved in purchasing your own location from any Franchisor. Buying into the concept of another doesn’t come with guarantees. If it didn’t work out in your investment, but it has for others…who is really to blame?

  • August 9, 2015 at 7:47 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve been eating at muscle maker done Rod opened in Colonia. I have tried many of the other location including Matawan(closed) Red Bank (closed) Middletown (closed) East Brunswick, Morristown long branch (closed) and Sayerville (closed I think). I looked into buying a exhausting store in long branch and was very surpirised what I leaned. First the food costs were 3 to 4 times higher than what I could get the same quality food at restaurant deport. The biggest thing was the alienation of females. The bright red and steal diamond plate decor along with the name did nothing to attract woman. I would not recommend this franchise for those reasons alone

  • September 9, 2015 at 9:46 pm
    Permalink

    I currently owns MMG franchise outside of the East Coast. I was very excited when I started this venture. Great pep talks from corporate along with amazing promises of support that I will be engulfed with. WRONG!

    We got the store built without their help other than selecting kitchen equipment. That I might add was a disaster. Gordon designed our kitchen and Rich Zang from Tucker Kitchen Equipment were taking care of that. DISASTER from start to finish. Both completely incompetent.

    We got ready to open and we barely had support at opening. There were such big promises but nothing kept. The POS sold by John Guild is awful. His support is awful and his website programming for online ordering is even worse. We couldn’t advertise ordering online which is really important these days because the site never ever works right. Customers get frustrated and go somewhere else.

    We were supposed to have regular visits from corporate, someone looking over our food costs and watching for theft, marketing help. NOTHING.

    If you are considering MMG run fast! They will deceive you and lead you into wasting your money. I understand some stores are a success but most are not profitable. This is from speaking to owners. Thanks to Rod Silva being a good guy the franchises keep trucking along.

    It’s too bad Rod’s concept has been taken away and mismanaged by such an incompetent leader Bob Morgan

  • October 20, 2015 at 10:09 am
    Permalink

    Please stay away from these crooks. You will lose your life savings. This concept is dead. Please Please Please….

  • October 20, 2015 at 2:53 pm
    Permalink

    Can anyone provide an update on how things have changed under the new ownership? Or has it?

  • November 3, 2015 at 12:46 am
    Permalink

    Rod is joke, Bob Morgan is the CEO another joke. Tim Betts another crook…..
    Please stay away and save your investment…

  • December 22, 2015 at 1:40 pm
    Permalink

    Bayville, NJ Closed – January 2015

  • January 8, 2016 at 9:09 pm
    Permalink

    Living in Tallahassee,Fl. with interest I watched your episode this evening (Jan 8,2016). I am a senior citizen and your franchise is near our university (FSU) and I do not venture that way often. The main thing I noticed from the Food Truck was handling food with gloves and then making change and handling money with the same glove on. Either have a cashier or take the glove off!!! Money is nasty!!
    Otherwise, your concept is great in my opinion.
    Listen to your workers!!
    Sincerely, Frances Bell

  • January 8, 2016 at 9:11 pm
    Permalink

    What do you mean?? Do not use a gloved hand for food and money….is that better??

  • January 9, 2016 at 5:21 pm
    Permalink

    Biggest mistake I ever made. Believed all the hype from corporate and signed on the dotted line with good ole Lester Soto (Google his name and you’ll see what a crook he is). Everything everyone is posting here (with exception of the one smuck that claims friend owns 3 and is doing great) is soooooo right on target. They never cared about me after I opened. Btw- did any other franchisee see this “hey franchisee, I’m Bob Morgan and I need you to sign this document before you open in 2hrs…. Document states I the franchisee turned down the required management training claiming I didn’t need. Truth was Everytime I asked Gordon what about my training he said you don’t need it’s fine. Opening day Bob says sign here. I say I’d like my lawyer to read first. He says ok you not opening until you sign. I look at it quickly and see its me signing “I don’t need training” doc. Told Bob Gordon said I didn’t need. He calls Gordon over and asks him is this true. Gordon says I never told you that (to my face he lies) Bob says soooo you signing or keeping doors locked? I was blown away
    But had everything ready to good to go- staff- food ready- friends coming- would’ve lost more money like I did building the freaking place to begin with. Pleaseeeee let me know if we ever sue these guys, I’d be more than happy to join. For anyone new looking into Mmg- take the guys advise from earlier post and smack ya head against the wall until you walk away.

  • January 9, 2016 at 7:00 pm
    Permalink

    Consider a restaurant here in Memphis TN, Southaven, MS or Olive Branch, MS, Collierville, TN. All are good places to start growing your business in the SOUTH. Many ppl here are Health conscious. Fresh grilled chicken is always a good idea instead of processed meat

  • January 9, 2016 at 7:05 pm
    Permalink

    Need another location in West part of country

  • January 10, 2016 at 6:02 pm
    Permalink

    Message to your founder:

    Hi. I am not a franchisee, I am a viewer of your Undercover Boss episode and Dude, you may have throat cancer.

    Please see a doctor at once.

  • February 11, 2016 at 3:46 pm
    Permalink

    I hear Morristown NJ location closing soon!! another bites the dust

  • June 3, 2016 at 3:24 pm
    Permalink

    My son works for a north New Jersey MMG which won #1 place in the region. I firmly believe it depends on who runs it. The owner and my son have been in the resturant business for many years before opening this MMG. Experience, hard work, loyalty, knowledge, all play an important part of the success. The owner works there!!! I’m hearing how some just own and let other run it. Hellllllloooooo!!! You get what you put into it.

  • July 21, 2016 at 8:24 pm
    Permalink

    I have to say that I read the complaints and figured people doing poorly just complain. Well, after opening my two locations and having already had to close one of them, all of the complaints seem to be true. No support, broken promises, no love for you after you are open, they only care about opening new locations. Bob, Rod, Gordon, Ben and all of the other cronies are worthless.

  • July 22, 2016 at 5:58 am
    Permalink

    Donna, u must have done a lot drugs while you were young

  • September 27, 2016 at 10:47 am
    Permalink

    Whats up with the MMG clowns……. have they screwed more people yet?

  • February 6, 2017 at 3:51 pm
    Permalink

    PARSIPPANY LOCATION CLOSED

  • February 16, 2017 at 5:19 pm
    Permalink

    I am an architect in Shreveport, Louisiana. I drew up the plans for the PROPOSED store in Shreveport. It would be a great location next to a Whole Foods. MMG has not released money to the franchisee to pay me for my design fees, around $8,000. My invoice is now 5 months old. I have been told some nonsense about them about to go public with an IPO in March and the auditors will not let them write a check for more than $5,000 during this IPO time and I will need to wait a little longer. So what, my invoice has been in their hands for 5 months and I have been trying to get paid. It is my understanding that the franchisee has dissolved his agreement with MMG so there will not be one in Shreveport. We do a lot of franchise and development work and this company has been the most difficult to deal with.

  • March 7, 2017 at 12:55 pm
    Permalink

    Shitheads

  • May 13, 2017 at 12:48 pm
    Permalink

    MUSCLE MAKER GRILL SUCKS

  • July 19, 2017 at 9:18 pm
    Permalink

    Just saw that the East Brunswick store on rt 18 closed. Had an eviction notice on the front door. The more I see people still wanting to open these concept the more I am greatful I am not longer involved with this horrible company. They have Derek Bogner ripping people off on the west coast now

  • October 11, 2017 at 5:03 pm
    Permalink

    Toms River Permanently Closed

  • October 16, 2017 at 8:18 pm
    Permalink

    This is not good.

    NOTE 2 – GOING CONCERN AND MANAGEMENT’S PLANS

    As of December 31, 2016, the Company had a cash balance, a working capital deficiency and an accumulated deficit of $335,724, $1,723,852 and $3,841,637 respectively. For the year ended December 31, 2016, the Company incurred a pre-tax net loss of $4,092,405. For the period from January 23, through December 31, 2015 and the period from January 1 through January 22, 2015, the Company incurred a pre-tax net loss of $839,530 and $62,866, respectively. These conditions indicate that there is substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for at least one year from the date of this filing.

  • October 18, 2017 at 1:24 pm
    Permalink

    Not only will they use the $19.9M and do nothing to change their business model to support their franchisee’s.
    First they force you to use Sysco. Is this because they want consistency in their product? Might be a small portion of their rationale, the bigger issue here is that Sysco is in bed with MMG. The prices they charge MMG Franchisees is outrageous. Chicken goes from $40.00 a case to $70.00 a case. How does that happen? I’ll tell you…Rod and his cronies are taking their cut of all food sales. Again, beating the franchisees and supporting HQ (an still showing a 4M loss. Then again, this kick back is probably off the books.
    Have to start considering all other vendors that we are forced to use. Paper Goods, Soda, Software support, etc. How much kick back is going back to the Franchise?

  • October 21, 2017 at 12:29 pm
    Permalink

    please don’t invest… Please

  • October 21, 2017 at 12:46 pm
    Permalink

    PLEASE READ BELOW AND SEE WHAT MR MORGAN IS SAYING… THE NONSENSE…

    This week, we talked with Robert Morgan, the company’s enthusiastic CEO, who said the warning was a natural consequence of the investments Muscle Maker is making in its business to generate growth. He said the company’s future is “guaranteed” and is hardly in the danger that the warning would suggest.

    “The company is extremely strong,” Morgan said. “We have some good things going on in 2017.”

    But Muscle Maker Grill also has some challenges with its growth trajectory and its financials as it takes its case to potential investors.

  • November 2, 2017 at 11:00 am
    Permalink

    Hey Bob Morgan, you douchebag. How many people lives do you ruin?

  • November 25, 2017 at 2:54 pm
    Permalink

    Imagine buying MMG stock at $4.75 a share….. what do you think the shares will be worth in 3 months..

    Please give me your Two cents!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *