COVERALL Franchise Complaints

The Coverall franchise website states:  “Since 1985, Coverall® has assisted nearly 9,000 entrepreneurs in becoming successful business owners and commercial cleaning professionals…

“Coverall provides its Franchise Owners with comprehensive training, an initial customer base, billing and collection services, financing, a global network of 90 Support Centers, plus the unique benefits of the Health-Based Cleaning System program, for measurably cleaner, safer customer facilities…. Coverall offers you the support you need to grow and develop your business.”

However, unhappy franchisee commenters have posted complaints about the Coverall franchise opportunity, with some claiming the Coverall franchise is a scam.  In 2008, commenter “ntoi” on the Complaints Board website wrote:

I’m a franchise owner for Coverall for almost two years now in San Mateo, CA and I really regret it joining and starting my business with them because all they did is SCAM me. Coverall Cleaning Concept aka Coverall-Based Cleaning System is where you can start your janitorial business by buying a franchise. You basically starting your cleaning business by using their name and you pay them yet they automatically deducted 15% each month plus insurance other charges. They suppose to guarantee you an account so that way you can start making money right away. They only guarantee you with account just enough that they can take and make money out of you each month and you left nothing. Which what is happening to me. All this time which all I get is headache because I always have to call the office to give me more account but no result. Now their holding my check and their not paying me. I called so may time what happened to my check and they just pass me around and no on knows. I’m ready so sue Coverall all for all my lost. I’m ready take them to court.

Anyone who want to start a janitorial cleaning business do your research. As I tell DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH COVERALL CLEANING CONCEPT aka COVERALL HEALTH-BASED CLEANING SYSTEM because is a SCAM.

More recently (on the same board) “Coverall Franchise owner/until expires” wrote:

I totally agree with the complains. I am a franchise owner myself. they are totally liers. I made a contract for $20k, I gave $14.000 downpayment and we agree that I was going to pay the rest each month /deducted from my paycheck. I though I was going to get my acconts (offices to clean) in one month. But, they made me wait about a year, plus I was making $9 dollars per hour (fast and hard work) and I did not had any money to hired an employee to help me. How much I was supposed to pay if I hire one? 1 dollar? THEY ARE SCAMMERS. Yes, they are in the forbes magazine, of course because they make money but franchises dont. they will take you money and make you work like crazy. they also charge for administration but you are the one who has to comfront the office owners if something is wrong or if you want them to increase your payment because you are working extra hours. DONT MAKE ANY CONTRACT WITH THEM, They are not good, this business is not worth it at all. I am totally dissapointed :(

THEPUNISHER wrote that all janitorial franchises, not just Coverall, are scams:

JANITORIAL FRANCHISES ARE A SCAM! It might work for some but I guarantee it doesn’t work for the majority. This is how they work:
_You pay them a package, for example you pay about $16K for a $4k monthly income
_They’ll get you the accounts.
_Although they say you can choose to accept or not a specific account, it’ not true. They will turn around and say they satisfied the agreement of providing your accounts and if you didn’t take, they won’t give you more accounts.
_They underbid contracts to compete with everyone else, since they are NOT the ones doing the work..they don’t care. They get the accounts due the low price and you’re stuck working hard for few hundred dollars a month. You would be better off working for McDonalds getting $8 an hr. DO THE MATH!
_NOW This is the worst of ALL…once they have too many franchisees and can’t find enough accounts, they will find anything wrong in some buildings as a missed trash can and ask the company if they want another person to clean…since it doesn’t make a difference for them, they will say yes. Then the Franchise call you and say your customer requested to get another contractor because he’s not happy with your job. Now they sale that account to the newer franchisees so they honor the agreement to get accounts. THAT’S STEALING!
WITH A CLEANING FRANCHISE, IN REALITY YOU NEVER OWN YOUR OWN BUSINESS! If you owned the accounts you should be able to walk away with them after a period of time..right? NO..YOU CAN’T BECAUSE THE CONTRACT IS ON THE FRANCHISE NAMER…NOT YOURS!
I just hope that a Federal Court one of these days force all cleaning franchises to get the accounts on the franchisees’ names…not theirs. Create a money back guarantee and protect the little guys..the franchisees…I can’t believe in this age Cleaning Franchises are able to get away with this scam.

kbill, who claims to be a former Coverall franchise owner in Ohio, wrote:

I was also a Franchise owner through coverall in cincinnati OH. They are complete scam artists. I wasted 6 years with them, trying to get something started and they did not hold up to their end of the bargain. I agree with what you guys are saying. Buyer beware!!!

ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH THE COVERALL COMMERCIAL CLEANING FRANCHISE?

IS COVERALL A SCAM OR LEGITIMATE FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITY? 

SHARE A COMMENT BELOW.

Also read:

JAN-PRO Franchise Complaints

JANI-KING Franchise Complaints

JAN-PRO: Janitorial Franchise Warning

JANITORIAL FRANCHISE ISSUES

FTC Guide to Buying a Janitorial Services Franchise

FTC’s Janitorial Franchise Buyer’s Guide

 

 





184 thoughts on “COVERALL Franchise Complaints

  • December 3, 2012 at 6:58 pm
    Permalink

    i ahey have been robing me blind on n m a coverall franchee for the past 7 years i just realise that they have been robing me blind they are realy robers i would like to get into the lawsuit against them can some one tell me how ?

  • December 18, 2012 at 9:15 am
    Permalink

    I am ashamed to admit that every things that these poor people are reporting is TRUE. I will not discuss in detail every thing. But I was one of the top Area Manager for Cover All in the Orlando Fl Area. And I can honestly say, that ,it’s true.
    Every thing!!!!!!!! I had to tell the franchisee that the customer wanted a new cleaner when in fact the Owner’s wanted me to switch them out! Then we would sell that same account to another franchisee. After about about 2 years of putting fires out (as they so call it!) and ripping franchisee off. I could not take it. Looking at those faces, seeing those people being deceived. So I quit. (Now it’s my turn) So now they hold my check! tell me that there is a 20% finder’s fee for extra floor work that they had me do because certain franchisee either didn’t have floor machine or experience. So now they rip me off. Enough said! I am very sorry for what I allowed this company( Cover All of North America) make me do. I am not this kind of person. I tried to help out as many as I could by sticking up for them. And giving them a heads up when a complain came in.
    I totally agree ALL FRANCHISE COMPANIES ARE A RIP OFF!! and I know them all. Don’t do it. Thanks

  • December 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm
    Permalink

    To Suzie,
    Follow the instructions below, and contact these Attorneys they are suing coverall right and they need to here from you!!!! Good Luck

    There is a National Class Action Lawsuit against coverall at this moment. To get more information on it you can go to my attorneys website http://www.LLRLAW.com I’m also a lead plaintif in a National Class Action Lawsuit against jan-pro. We need to get out there and warn people about these cleaning franchisors. We should go to the media and get the word out. Please go to http://www.franchisetimes.com and look for this article that talks about the recent lawsuits against Coverall. The article is Taking off the Gloves by Julie Bennett.

    Take care,
    Jerry

  • January 20, 2013 at 9:51 pm
    Permalink

    We bought a Coverall franchise here in Australia in June 2012 and had to walk away from it in September 2012. They did not pay monthly as promised and we only received two chequs in that time. We are still waiting to be paid for a months work we did in August last year. When we call, we get answering macines. We leave messages but they never call back. We e-mail and receive no reply !\We are $30,000 in debt because of these scam artists, and there is absoliutely nothing we can do about it ! Of course, they know that ! They know none of us can afford legal costs. The whole experience has made me sick to my stomach. DON”T GET INVOLVED WITH THEM!

  • February 4, 2013 at 5:35 am
    Permalink

    to anne
    If you are in NSW, You can suit coverall in CTTT, You do not need a solicitor. If you are in vic, You can suit in VCAT. It is cheap solution for you.

  • February 15, 2013 at 4:15 pm
    Permalink

    I want to sell my franchise. Do I have to sell it to another franchise owner of coverall or can I sell it to anyone.

    I talk to my customers and they are happy with us and then the next thing you know coverall is stating that they are requesting another franchise owner. I am tired and want out. Please help!!!

  • February 21, 2013 at 2:16 pm
    Permalink

    THEPUNISHER you are right. I once long time ago work for them, sad to say. They are not a cleaning company. They are a SALES company. There job to to take as much money as they can from you and make the most commission at the end of the days. Yes, they will hear one complaint and ask the comstomer if they would like a new FO. If so, they would ask if the customer could put it in writing to make it looks like the Customer requested it. They are covering their ASS if it should go to court. Yes, many accouts are under bid, why? Commision and they do not have to clean it, you are.

    Once you purchase your package, they will offer you accounts and if you say NO for what ever reason, it is counted against you. And now they do not have to offer anything else to you because they have full-fill there obligation and it is you that are not accepting the accounts. They are FO that have not recieve their full package for yearssss.

    Good-Luck to all that is in already.
    Those that have not. Save your money and go find a job, please.

  • March 1, 2013 at 11:36 pm
    Permalink

    If the company is so bad and not honoring their contractual agreements then why in the he’ll do you not due for bring of contract or agreement? I am not a franchisee of cover all yet i have however been doing my due diligence on the company and also I have had attorneys look over the agreement first, and my stste is a binding agreement state, i have also worked for another franchiser and i dont believe they are all scamers you have to remember they work for you, you pay them to provude you with the accounts so if they dont live up to theit end of the bargan then they are liable, notate everything take pictures fight fire with fire. I would also get written statements from your cleaning customers to rebut their claims that they ask to have you removed from the account.

  • April 11, 2013 at 7:31 pm
    Permalink

    When Coverall came to our office about cleaning they didn’t even mention a franchise. The poor woman who was assigned our office told me exactly what others are saying about all the fees Coverall takes. We didn’t use them for a long time but they REALLY ARE A VERY UNETHICAL COMPANY. I sure hope that other people don’t stop using them and that people read what a bad company to be part of.

  • April 22, 2013 at 12:04 am
    Permalink

    I am a former employee as well and have to agree with Tom Hardy, If you can find a way to get out of the Franchise do so.

    Tom Hardy- I was like you, trying to help and support franchise owners and Coverall did not like that. I was not “PRO COVERALL” but PRO FRANCHISE OWNER”. They made up a lie and accused me of doing something i did not, and fired me. All they want is money and dont care if the franchise owner cant afford it. i used to dispute the contracts that would come in from sales because they were underbid. they did not care and told us not to question it and sell it no matter what and get it started because they need the sales. i felt so bad for the franchise owner and i had to lie and manipulate for them to take it.

    i busted my butt for them for many many years and did there dirty work, this is the thanks i get. in a way they did me a favor, the nightmare is over. Im gad they are being sued and hope they fall. shame on them!

  • April 26, 2013 at 11:58 pm
    Permalink

    all of these comments are true they rip everyone off I want out as well

  • May 4, 2013 at 7:13 am
    Permalink

    I’m a current soon to be former franchise owner looking to file a class action lawsuit with the help of franchise owners who have experienced all and more of the damages I’ve seen in all of the above complaints. Not so sure it’s a a scam but very unethical and some illegal practices. I can be reached via mail for those who are interested in participating in any filings. They have already been exposed with other lawsuits that I have found online because I knew I couldn’t be the only one. My mailing address is [redacted]. Please send a letter stating your concerns along with your return contact information. I am in the very early stages of attacking this lawsuit but I will be giving it all might.

    Editor’s note: We don’t allow posting of personal contact information for several reasons. Email me at UnhappyFranchisee[at]gmail.com if you’d like to discuss recruitment options. Thanks. ADMIN

  • June 6, 2013 at 10:24 am
    Permalink

    terry forde of coverall in new britain has not paid one who worked a month with him never got a w-2 or a time card terry in a disgrace people dont work for free terry pay tommie rollins

  • June 23, 2013 at 1:40 pm
    Permalink

    i have been a franchise owner for 25yrs. read again owner! every complaint reads like an employee whining.coverall is a sales company.YOU are the janitorial service.that”s the problem with most of these people.they are acting like employees.forget blaming coverall,get your own customers and go to work every day like my wife and i.we have had great sucess with OUR franchise,we have little contact with coverall and we make money,not 9.00 an hour like one complaint said.if you are making that you are a dope.

  • August 11, 2013 at 11:58 pm
    Permalink

    Hello everyone I need advice I’m currently looking forward to starting my own franchise with cover-all (Even after reading all the bad reviews on them). But I have a plan to cover my self. Have anyone had a chance to actually branch off and make business card and finding there own accounts. So when Cover-all start ripping you off your still have income coming in from your accounts you found on your own ?

    Then eventually branching off and parting ways with cover-all. I really been considering it and I feel this plan will work because I’m in NYC where there is million of office buildings. I will really appreciate everyone advice and input email me and we can converse please I need the advice.

  • September 6, 2013 at 12:05 am
    Permalink

    I am a franchise owner and I am a little torn. I agree with pretty much everyone, including Rick Pugliese.

    I do believe Coverall is a rip-off, but hey even I fell for it. They’re good at what they do, which is basically sales. They sell unbelievable opportunities to us(easy ownership) and these customers(cheap labor). The MAJOR problem that I have with Coverall is that they charge too much to do NOTHING!! I have long been cut off contact with my office. Everything is Emailed (for legal records) and I basically treat it as a job. A job where I make $15 – $20 an hour (work fast efficient). I can afford to hire an employee but I choose not to and instead don’t take on many accounts. I cant stand the fact that if I have pleased a customer so well that they recommend a friend and that person contacts Coverall instead of me, I have to pay for basically my own recommendation. Which is one of the reasons I don’t take accounts from them anymore. I also have personal issues preventing me from putting in the hours I would like to. But I am somewhat satisfied with what I have now. But every month as I look at my statement and see all the deductions that they take out its just ridiculous how much they get paid to collect your money. And maybe they pass on a message or two from a customer (who basically thinks you just work for Coverall). Now if I didn’t have Coverall I would be so much happier, emotionally and financially. Coverall does however help you with initial business startup. I purchased the smallest package and grew pretty rapidly. Good Employees were my problem, as well as no support from Coverall with complaining customers. I don’t like when a customer calls the office instead of me (which is why I treat some accounts like a job now, less stress) And there is no way in hell I would let them take an account from me and sell it to someone else. Every account I lost did not deal with Coverall anymore at all. I guess I’m a vengeful bastard but if I don’t get money then they wont either.
    @Kwanelle
    I do believe this franchise can be successful. It will take a lot of funding and dedicated employees.

    But I also think that with the same commitment and dedication you want to put into a franchise, an actual small business can be created. I think that for me at least in my situation I need a steady job for now. While also continuing with my franchise by hiring employees. And eventually continuing with my own cleaning company apart from Coverall (after jumping over a few legal hurdles first). Maybe one day I will sue them for the wrong they’ve done (I have proof)

    For now though I would love to know how you make it work for you Rick Pugliese.

  • September 19, 2013 at 8:01 pm
    Permalink

    ALL franchise concepts regardless of type of business must provide a financial disclosure document to potential buyers. YOU must read this from front to back and if you do not understand it is YOUR responsibility to seek a professional opinion BEFORE you sign anything or pay any money. For all those complaining on this board it’s likely you did not do this otherwise you would not be in the shape you are in. Stop blaming others for your bad decisions.

  • September 25, 2013 at 4:41 am
    Permalink

    Well I’m glad I had negative experinces with Excel and ACN when I was in my young 20s because it taught me to be skeptical. I understand it takes capital to begin a business. When I heard Coverall would help with financing it sounds legit because it was saying it took money to make money. I already make good money (low 6 figures) but I work for someone else. I’m willing to make half what I do now in order to own my own business. For me the freedom is more important than the money. I had the initial meeting yesterday. Michelle was real nice until I started to ask detailed questions. Then she got a huge attitude and started to try and rush me out of the office. But even before this attitude I was skeptical because within less than the first 15 minutes meeting the head of the office he made 2 negative comments about minorities. One was about blacks and the other was about hispanics. What he didn’t know is that I’m not originally from the racially charged area of Knoxville and I have 2 grand children who are half minority. Michelle never would answer many questions about start up costs regarding equipment and chemical purchases. I’m on many tablet now and if I was on many PC I would give a lot more details of what I discovered in the documents they provided and the answers I was given. To end this length text I’ll say this, DO NOT PURCHASE A FRANCHISE WITH COVERALL. I’m not going to and I recommend no one else does. It was bad enough I’m contacting the state attorney general.

  • December 2, 2013 at 9:55 pm
    Permalink

    I purchase this franchanse thinking I would make some extra money but the only thing I’m made is to put a rope around my neck. Since started with this business I have been working like a slave without seening a penny extra, I have an account the it’s a passage to an slow death. I have to clean the most dirties apartment in a complex building That takes me between 6 and 10 hours to finish ( only kitchen and bathroom ) also I have to do inside and outside windows sometimes from a tenth floor and below putting my life in danger, also I have to use a heavy duty chemicals to leave the place as new.
    I’ve been trying to get help from coverall trying to change that account or saling it back to them but I don’t get good option from them. I wish I just could get myself out of this headache w/o been affected
    Please someone tell me what can I do
    I have more things to say

  • December 10, 2013 at 1:07 pm
    Permalink

    I have been a owner for 3 years now… started making 36K a year…. Now making over 100K a year, 3 employees and growing… Stop complaining and start DOING… Be smart, Be pro-active and most of all have faith in God and in you.

    Anything that you put all your effort is going to pay off… I do understand what most people say here, but what did they do to prevent/stop that? Complaining doesnt resolve anything, I have stuff happened to me like what they are explaining but i stood up and did what i had to do and here i am.. if i lost everyhting tomorrow i would buy another franchise and start again…

    God bless you all

  • December 16, 2013 at 2:10 am
    Permalink

    Cesar it sounds good but coverall is so sneaky. I sold my own accounts and they constantly went in them offering a new franchise owner. They would make up lies and write tickets saying the customer complained when they didnt
    I got my own business insurance and they were still charging me. I treated my business like it was my business bit Coverall treats people as of they are employees

  • December 17, 2013 at 11:02 am
    Permalink

    Cesar Vargas con el mayor respeto una de las grandes virtudes y derecho que tiene el hombre Es la liberated para expresarce y deben is aprendes a oir y respetar criterios , mi esposo tiene una franquicia con coverall Por mas de 10 años y hemos sufrido lo mismo que muchos plantean en sus comentarios,si a usted le va tan bien que dios lo siga bendiciendo pero deje que otros Se expresen .god bless you

  • December 19, 2013 at 12:52 pm
    Permalink

    Nikki, They have also done the same to me, But what i did? i met with my clients and explained them what was happening, The client doesn’t know how this works, Once i did that we cut coverall from begin the middle man and now every single client calls me directly, not coverall, i also spoke to coverall ant told them that i didn’t want nobody from them in any of my accounts without me being present.

    Caridad, en ningun momento dije que no se quejen, esto es libre para que hablen lo que deseen con todo su derecho, como ya dije a mi tambien me ha pasado lo mismo que a todos ustedes yo tambien e sido victima de coverall pero cuando iba a pasar tome medidas que me ayudaron a mantenerme y poder seguir adelante. y aqui estoy, como dije puede ser que manana caiga, pero caere luchando y siempre dare lo mejor de mi por si algo pasa podre estar tranquilo y saber que traté. =)

  • January 8, 2014 at 1:41 pm
    Permalink

    mr.getinkd,all you have to do to get the referrals is make sure your customer does not deal with coverall,but you. put your card in the book let your customer know that things get taken care of better if they contact you.

  • January 28, 2014 at 11:43 am
    Permalink

    i been with coverall for years the y want me to pay them ten thousand dollors . for acc/ but give nothing in return .coverall is a joke and the people that work there they do or say anything to get a cheek. i buff and wax the floors two mouth ago still have not got paid what to do what to do/ wayne johnson maryland.

  • March 28, 2014 at 8:14 pm
    Permalink

    Buying a franchise is not buying a job. In a job you can always blame your employer when you feel wronged. In a franchise you own the business and so you have to look in the mirror when things go wrong. Many of us cannot do that objectively. Buying a franchise does NOT guarantee success. Just like any other business it takes consistent hard work, not just when you feel like it. Be accountable and stand on your own two feet. Good luck.

  • April 4, 2014 at 12:33 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve been with Coverall for almost six years and my experience has been very different from most of the comments on this page. I know several franchise owners with Coverall and the experience does vary from one to the next but the business is what you make it and if you’re willing to work at it like you own it (because you do) then you can be successful. Many of the franchisees treat this like a job and not as though they own a business and that seems to be where most problems start. Yes you do have fees associated with your franchise but you would have similar costs doing it on your own without any support…I know because I’ve done it both ways. As for the insurance costs, that depends how you structure that cost, you don’t have to set that up through the franchisor you can do that separately. And if you want to grow your business you don’t have to purchase additional business you can acquire additional business on your own and the local reps will help you do so at no cost to you…I’ve recently acquired over $5,000 in monthly billing that the local rep helped me write contracts, bid, propose, and get signed AT NO COST. Coverall even provides me with tools to prevent the loss of accounts which from my understanding very few franchisees utilize; it’s called an account survey report which we’re taught how to use in the initial training and if we complete them on a monthly basis not only will you build a relationship with your client but you will also find problems before they get out of hand and they will guarantee your business for up to a year. Who else does that? If you were in business for yourself and a business closed after six months would that be replaced at no charge? If you have issues with the area you’re in and complaints are founded then you have legal rights that can be pursued and you should but make sure you’re doing everything to make your business successful as well. Look at most of the people you know and ask yourself how many of them have the ability to successfully run their own business on their own and then realize that most of the franchise opportunities that you run into are trying to make that a possibility for everyone that’s willing to put the effort into it. I’d also say that most of the comments on here started a business for less than $3000 down that has an initial billing around $1000 monthly; while it’s fine to start a business in that manner you need to realize that you have a lot of work in building that business if you want it to be profitable. I’d challenge you to compare that start-up cost to other franchise opportunities and see what you can get for anything under even $10000. I’ve looked at other franchise opportunities and the costs are quite high in many industries. I would recommend doing research on any business opportunity before you invest and make sure it is the right fit for you, if you do this chances are you’ll be successful if you put in the effort that is required. Best of luck to everyone.

  • April 23, 2014 at 10:39 am
    Permalink

    I truly hope everything work out for your all. I recently attented a meeting with coverall and I am still trying to make a decision rather or not to invest. I have been looking at other options, but I have-not made a final decision.

    Good luck!

  • May 1, 2014 at 4:15 pm
    Permalink

    Most of the comments and complaints loudly illustrate what is wrong with our wonderful country. I would like to remind everyone that your success in business is directly related to what you put into the business, franchise, private or public. Many people are under the misunderstanding that just because I put a sign out front or a sticker on my vehicle, I will automatically be rich or plainly, I am, therefore I deserve to be successful. Living at a time in our history where “Entitlement” seems to be the thought that drives people to do anything, it should be of no surprise that these folks are disillusioned and complaining. Hard work, perseverance and ingenuity. are key elements on the path to success.

    The difficulty I have with the “franchised janitorial systems” available in the “Business Opportunity” world is that they are money driven. In spite of what their marketing material may portray about what they stand for, the system is driven by results at a low profit margin. I feel the franchise systems fail their franchisees during the “qualification review” process. The desire to be an independent business person does not “a successful business person” make. Aptitude and experience need to be considered. The industry as a whole has a low satisfaction level and having one or two weeks of in-office -classroom training is not enough to be considered a “professional”.

    All in all, “Buyer Beware” should be the thought of the hour when considering any business start-up. If these dissatisfied franchise owners had been thorough in due diligence and research, they would have better understood what they were getting into. The old adage “there’s a sucker born every day and two to take them” is fully illustrated in these complaints. It is unfortunate and I empathize with each of them. Each one of them can turn it around with some insightful direction and I would be glad to talk to anyone as to how to do that. You have my name and email address.

    When the government filed suit against my distant relative, John D. Rockefeller, he turned a bad scenario into an extremely lucrative legacy.

  • May 2, 2014 at 7:10 am
    Permalink

    @Kevin Rockefeller, I don’t disagree that there is certainly a little bit of naïve tendency in some of the owner-operators. That they think plunking 1k down is automatically going to make them 10k, 20k, 100k etc….But in the case of Stratus Franchising/Stratus Building Solutions it was the fact that THEY (Stratus) Fraudulently induced everyone from the Master/Area Developer down to the Unit Franchisee.

    There is a cause for concern when the unit franchise owner is directly setup for failure by their Master/Area Developer in order to CHURN the accounts in order to get a ROI that was Fraudulently Induced from the outset by offering FALSE Pro-Forma’s, FALSE Financials Validated by previous Masters in order to gain FAVOR from the Corporate Office (Stratus).

    These FAVORS included breaks on Royalties, breaks on Sales/Marketing Opportunities for recruitment and eventual signings of future Masters, breaks on Unit Franchise Fees for their own Master Licenses etc….

    At Stratus Franchising, LLC. the list of Schemes and the Number of People involved in the skim is immense…..

    Pete Frese
    Dennis Jarrett
    Bill (Sexual Harasser) Blair
    David (I’m not as bad as Marvin Ashton) Farrell
    Marissa (I’m the National Marketing Manager) Lather
    Marvin (RICO MAN) Ashton
    Carmen (Where I am now) Garcia
    Channen/Rene Smith
    Mark/Jayson Bashforth
    Afshin (Iranian Boys Club, PERFORMA BOY) Cangarlu
    Ken (Golden Boy) Cassiri
    Jeff (Anal) Abel
    Tom (I didn’t Embezzle) Weiss
    John (I didn’t Embezzle either) Coleman

    You had MASTERS, smart overall business people DUPED/LIED TOO/FRAUDULENTLY INDUCED to fork over MILLIONS OF COMBINED DOLLARS. Ranging from 200k-700k each.

    The sheer lunacy of the those fees, combined with the false Pro-Forma generated by Afshin Cangarlu, Presented by DJ, Pete, Marissa, David, Carmen, Ashton, Bill, Mark and others, VALIDATED by Ken, Jeff, Mark/Jayson, Channen/Rene, Tom, John was a SCHEME that violated FTC Rules, State Laws, Commerce Clauses, Mail/Wire Fraud etc….

    In turn, Thousands of Unit Franchisees and their Families were harmed because MULTIPLE Masters went Belly Up….Others were harmed by the direct CHURNING activities of MANY of the above listed Masters in the System.

    Hence there are multiple lawsuits, investigations by State Governments in at least three (3) states, rumors of more lawsuits and investigations forthcoming.

    Bottom Line, when you are SET UP to FAIL, even the best/smartest businessmen FAIL!

    More coming as Stratus Franchising is losing ground on Multiple Fronts!

  • May 16, 2014 at 8:57 am
    Permalink

    I was a franchise owner myself for 7 years with Coverall. Most of the complaints here are true. The key to this is to buy a small package, learn as much as you can, get your own accounts, and get out! I was able to learn the traits of the business, and eventually learned how to get my own accounts, and after my hard work I realized I did not need Coverall for my business. I sold my Franchise, (although it was not easy), and continue with my own business. I explore other options in the cleaning business, like washing windows, carpet cleaning, etc. You can make more money if you learn other things other than just cleaning offices. We can all do big money if we do it right. Go in with the right mind-set and remember don’t stay long, learn and move on. Don’t invest big, it will not help! keep your head high.

  • May 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm
    Permalink

    Russell your “speak” is a little to by the book I’ve been around thousands of FO’s and I can count on 1 FINGER the ones that could express as clearly and exactly perfect from the training manual like that your obviously an employee, good try though!
    I’m a former employee with a lot of information on some very disgusting practices that went on a for very long time and would love to help any case that I can,I’m sure there will be even more coming as they’ve been in a franchise sales mode the last year and have no accounts to give, it’s absolutely horrible what these people are doing with peoples last penny they thought they were using to buy a dream when in reality its complete nightmare

  • July 20, 2014 at 4:47 am
    Permalink

    I wasted 10 years of my life with these losers! I lose my home had to file bankruptcy. All they do is keep smiling and taking my hard earn cash! When I started there. There was 25 franchise “owners!” Now it down to about 10! Grant I was blinded by there lies of making easy money! They under bid contracts so bad! Its a joke! But it all a shell game! They under bid contracts so bad you can barly make any money! STAY AWAY!I should have never got involve with them!

    Wally

  • July 24, 2014 at 7:22 pm
    Permalink

    Wow.
    I am meeting with the area General Manager next week. Before coming to this site, I decided to look up info about Janitorial Franchises published by the Federal Trade Commission. Its interesting that when I asked for a specimen agreement, he thought it would be best if I got the agreement when I visited his office giving me little time to review the info. I can not say he refused me which appears to be a FTC violation but I think he is on shaky ground. Now looking at the FTC required disclosure document that identifies 9 items on the list that they need to provide and that information needs to be provided 14 days prior to the purchase of the franchise, I also asked to contact franchise owners in which he once again stated that it would be provided at my visit next week. It sure seems to me that this company has not learned from the Class Action Lawsuit Settlement Agreement that was issued on July 15, 2014
    Its like everything else, nothing comes easy and its best to make an informed decision. All of your information both good and bad has been extremely helpful and is most appreciated.

  • September 12, 2014 at 7:51 pm
    Permalink

    Hey guys! I’ve been a FO just little over a year.. I got the smallest package with $3000.0 down.. And 24 months to pay the rest….. Im 27 years old and in 14 months I was able to pay myself and payoff the amount I owed…. The are two clases you need to take 1) money management 2) business management…. Most of my accounts were $17/hour so I paid myself minimun wage and the rest kept it safe….. Of course you need to keep your own full time regular job to do so…. Now in the process of hiring someone because I dnt owe to coverall and i can pay someone the minimun and the money i was paying coverall goes to my business savings….. Me doing nothing but supervise the person I hire!!! I still have my job but more income… Just do your surveys every month and talk to your clients tell the how it works if you can…. And be present if anyone from coverall does a random survey!! So you know what was the outcome!!!! Good luck you all!!!

  • October 26, 2014 at 8:32 pm
    Permalink

    Coverall of Arizona is a terrible company they are total rip offs the pay sucks you are better off getting a second job there regional director only looks out for his friends by giving them the best accounts and all the special services work and if you have special service crew men he will find a way to get rid of you and steal your crew away and yes they severely underbid contract just to get them all while promising you an increase that will be never come and they don’t mention to you in the beginning when you are first get started buying a franchise is that they have out side contractors come in and work accounts and they aren’t even franchise owners most of the negative complaints on here is 98%accurate

  • November 11, 2014 at 10:40 am
    Permalink

    Coverall es una trampa, te garantizan las cuentas de inicio solo 6 meses y las q compras 3 meses luego de eso te la quitan alegando mal desempeño y las reciclan. Osea q se la venden a alguien mas y así hacen con todo el mundo q conozco q ha te ido franquicia con ellos, son un fraude deberíamos llevarlos a corte, nosotros los amenazamos con eso y hace desde entonces dos años q no sabemos de ellos, ni siquiera nos han mandado un Bill para pagar el loan q aún quedaba pendiente. Eso te da a ver q son un fraude

  • November 29, 2014 at 11:21 pm
    Permalink

    Coverall Health Base Janitorial here in Chicago is a RIP OFF. I had to walk away from them before I do something I might regret! !!

  • December 9, 2014 at 12:34 am
    Permalink

    I am a business broker. Many, if not most, “franchises” are merely scams, especially “cleaning”, in both Oz & USA.

  • December 22, 2014 at 2:45 pm
    Permalink

    Folks, if you want to start a cleaning business, DO NOT go through a franchise, you Don’t need them. There is a wealth of information online and other sources that one can utilise to start up a business. It doesn’t take a lot of money, no where NEAR what a franchise will cost you…don’t let ‘em fool ya.

    I’ve personally done both, independent,franchise and back to independent. I only went with a franchise to (hopefully) “ramp -up quickly”- due to a relocation and a job that was supposed to follow, but didn’t. I went with Coverall and it didn’t start out bad. The “Field Rep(Representative)”- who is your liaison to the “District Office”(DO) was an “industry guy”(had worked in janitorial/service ) and was well versed, but more importantly – honest, and clued me into some “tactics” employed and also about the “sales team”, who couldn’t give a rip about the franchise owner(FO), only the commissions.

    Briefly(well, will try!) this is how it worked when I was in(to my recent knowledge still does):
    You purchase your initial package ,say a $3000 level of business(which,mind you,costs generally 3Xs more than that-like $9000+) .

    You get “training”(a joke) ,usually 2 weeks,mainly classroom/videos.
    They have a specific amount of time to fill your ‘package’- to get you to your level of purchased business. You might get just 1 account for the full amount(rare) ,or several accounts over the course of weeks(possibly months).
    You’re told you can “choose” accounts, yet to reject initial business is generally frowned upon- and you sense it. So you eat a chit sandwich or two hoping the ‘quality’ of accounts gets better. Believe me, they are “bottom feeders”, again- sales doesn’t care(all these cleaning franchises are are “sales shops” for accounts), they don’t clean them and once the new client signs the contract they’ll never see them again. So, you bee-bop along ,servicing “your”(they aren’t ,really, the franchise holds the contract) accounts ,then one day ,you get a dreaded cancellation letter from your D.O. -an account bites the dust….

    But lo! Your Rep calls a few days later and they have another account you might be interested in. And here’s how they make even MORE money(beyond the royalty fee each month) – the “Finder Fee” . You pay for new business you “take on” from them , anywhere from 2.75 to 3.5(Coverall now) . THAT’S NOT a % ….THAT’S a Multiplier! Say the new account is $300 a month, multiply it by (Coverall’s) 3.5 and YOU PAY $1,050 for the “privilege” of owning(again,you never do) that new account. You get to work it 4 months FOR FREE(talking NET,after all other fee deductions).

    Oh yes, they tell you you can get you own accounts with their contracts, and I’ve seen a few FOs(Coverall’s) on this thread trumpeting that in the franchise’s defence, but it begs a question……

    If you can get your own business(accounts), what the hell do you need them for?!? Accounting? Bullocks….so ,I slowly ,as time permitted, did just that and ‘weened’ myself from them. Anyone else in a cleaning franchise- you can too. Getting insurance and a “shingle” is not a big deal, and you’ll feel a greater sense of ownership/accomplishment.

    Your welcome;)

  • January 14, 2015 at 9:08 pm
    Permalink

    I am a Coverall Franchise Owner in NY. If any Franchise Owners would like to get out please contact me. I will purchase your business at a fair price.

    Thank you,

    Adam

  • February 9, 2015 at 9:51 pm
    Permalink

    Adam would consider buying a franchise out of state in Ohio?

  • March 1, 2015 at 6:41 pm
    Permalink

    @ Carol, sorry you fell into it. If Adam bites (which I doubt) make sure you charge each account with a 3.6 multiplier as Coverall would …

    ;)

  • March 17, 2015 at 5:09 am
    Permalink

    The Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System PLEASE DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY, with this Franchise whatever they offer is NOT TRUE, they try to make you accepts account you will be loosing money, THERE GOAL IS SELLING contracts, they miss treat the franchisee, in Lyndhurst NJ Tom Vissagio, Millie Estrada and Gianni Arevalo they make the franchisee to be scared enforcing them to do whatever they want, and holding the franchisee pay, and beside all that enforcing them to buy the Coverall product, and the worse situation they sell under the table contracts to another franchisee.

  • March 19, 2015 at 9:52 am
    Permalink

    Hello, please HELP HELP
    I need info about selling my franchise to Coveall or to new customer. But the sales person from Coverall say I’ll be loosing a lot money, because coverall will pay me only 2% for my account and I’ll end up with balance, or I could get new franchisee to buy my account, BUT the account won’t be with warranty for the new franchisee.
    I had pay 5000.00 already, I’m single mom I need to get my money back.

  • April 2, 2015 at 4:31 pm
    Permalink

    Karen email me, I may be interested.

    If you’d like to exchange contact information, you can email me at UnhappyFranchisee[at]gmail.com -ADMIN

  • April 13, 2015 at 12:58 pm
    Permalink

    I hired Coverall in February 2015 and what a mistake! In the beginning I did not know they are a franchise company. The first person cleaning smoked in our office and did a horrible job. I decided to give them a second change – my mistake number two and I have the pictures to prove it. They don’t dust, don’t clean microwaves, don’t wipe off tables and this past weekend I came in to a muddy entry way. I cannot wait until the contract is over starting first of May. Do not hire these people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • April 13, 2015 at 7:46 pm
    Permalink

    I tried to tell you guys a while back not to get involved with these people. It’s not just one particular name franchise, they all have the same business model. They bid so low you can’t even hire employees. I own a cleaning service, and have since 1985. These guys bid at 1985 prices just to get accounts to pawn off on you. Bid em to get em. Then you have to do a trash and dash just so you can make a profit. If you guys would form some kind of nation wide coalition against these bullies, you could do something besides bitch about it. There is definitely enough of you. Start a website, and from there unite then push back. They have the national franchise something or another defending them to protect franchising, but this kind of franchising is criminal. They are driving down prices in our entire industry and hurting the image of all cleaning services now. What they are doing to you guys is immoral, lawless,and just plain greedy. I don’t see how they can sleep at night. I feel for you guys!

  • April 18, 2015 at 2:33 pm
    Permalink

    @ Brian – Well said. Own my own now ,also, after giving Coverall a whirl(you can read my experience and recommendation to others here ↑ above). Actually ran a service in the ’80s with another fellow,had some employees, your right- franchise pricing of jobs is in the gutter. But, they’re bottom feeders also, couldn’t believe some of the crap they offered. Only interested in sales (which is all these outfits are – sales/clearinghouses for contracts).

    Hopefully more will realise what they are,avoid them or pull out and let ’em whither on the vine.

  • May 26, 2015 at 11:32 pm
    Permalink

    wow !!#
    What a sad discovery. I was just about to buy into coverall. It’s a shame. I have 30 yrs in the building field. So was going to ride on this experience to increase income. but now I guess I’m going to need to this on my own. Yes your Simone said there is a lot of info on the Internet about starting your own cleaning business but are there reputable. Any Recommendations? Any accounts for sale ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *