COVERALL Franchise Complaints

The Coverall franchise website states:  “Since 1985, Coverall® has assisted nearly 9,000 entrepreneurs in becoming successful business owners and commercial cleaning professionals…

“Coverall provides its Franchise Owners with comprehensive training, an initial customer base, billing and collection services, financing, a global network of 90 Support Centers, plus the unique benefits of the Health-Based Cleaning System program, for measurably cleaner, safer customer facilities…. Coverall offers you the support you need to grow and develop your business.”

However, unhappy franchisee commenters have posted complaints about the Coverall franchise opportunity, with some claiming the Coverall franchise is a scam.  In 2008, commenter “ntoi” on the Complaints Board website wrote:

I’m a franchise owner for Coverall for almost two years now in San Mateo, CA and I really regret it joining and starting my business with them because all they did is SCAM me. Coverall Cleaning Concept aka Coverall-Based Cleaning System is where you can start your janitorial business by buying a franchise. You basically starting your cleaning business by using their name and you pay them yet they automatically deducted 15% each month plus insurance other charges. They suppose to guarantee you an account so that way you can start making money right away. They only guarantee you with account just enough that they can take and make money out of you each month and you left nothing. Which what is happening to me. All this time which all I get is headache because I always have to call the office to give me more account but no result. Now their holding my check and their not paying me. I called so may time what happened to my check and they just pass me around and no on knows. I’m ready so sue Coverall all for all my lost. I’m ready take them to court.

Anyone who want to start a janitorial cleaning business do your research. As I tell DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH COVERALL CLEANING CONCEPT aka COVERALL HEALTH-BASED CLEANING SYSTEM because is a SCAM.

More recently (on the same board) “Coverall Franchise owner/until expires” wrote:

I totally agree with the complains. I am a franchise owner myself. they are totally liers. I made a contract for $20k, I gave $14.000 downpayment and we agree that I was going to pay the rest each month /deducted from my paycheck. I though I was going to get my acconts (offices to clean) in one month. But, they made me wait about a year, plus I was making $9 dollars per hour (fast and hard work) and I did not had any money to hired an employee to help me. How much I was supposed to pay if I hire one? 1 dollar? THEY ARE SCAMMERS. Yes, they are in the forbes magazine, of course because they make money but franchises dont. they will take you money and make you work like crazy. they also charge for administration but you are the one who has to comfront the office owners if something is wrong or if you want them to increase your payment because you are working extra hours. DONT MAKE ANY CONTRACT WITH THEM, They are not good, this business is not worth it at all. I am totally dissapointed :(

THEPUNISHER wrote that all janitorial franchises, not just Coverall, are scams:

JANITORIAL FRANCHISES ARE A SCAM! It might work for some but I guarantee it doesn’t work for the majority. This is how they work:
_You pay them a package, for example you pay about $16K for a $4k monthly income
_They’ll get you the accounts.
_Although they say you can choose to accept or not a specific account, it’ not true. They will turn around and say they satisfied the agreement of providing your accounts and if you didn’t take, they won’t give you more accounts.
_They underbid contracts to compete with everyone else, since they are NOT the ones doing the work..they don’t care. They get the accounts due the low price and you’re stuck working hard for few hundred dollars a month. You would be better off working for McDonalds getting $8 an hr. DO THE MATH!
_NOW This is the worst of ALL…once they have too many franchisees and can’t find enough accounts, they will find anything wrong in some buildings as a missed trash can and ask the company if they want another person to clean…since it doesn’t make a difference for them, they will say yes. Then the Franchise call you and say your customer requested to get another contractor because he’s not happy with your job. Now they sale that account to the newer franchisees so they honor the agreement to get accounts. THAT’S STEALING!
WITH A CLEANING FRANCHISE, IN REALITY YOU NEVER OWN YOUR OWN BUSINESS! If you owned the accounts you should be able to walk away with them after a period of time..right? NO..YOU CAN’T BECAUSE THE CONTRACT IS ON THE FRANCHISE NAMER…NOT YOURS!
I just hope that a Federal Court one of these days force all cleaning franchises to get the accounts on the franchisees’ names…not theirs. Create a money back guarantee and protect the little guys..the franchisees…I can’t believe in this age Cleaning Franchises are able to get away with this scam.

kbill, who claims to be a former Coverall franchise owner in Ohio, wrote:

I was also a Franchise owner through coverall in cincinnati OH. They are complete scam artists. I wasted 6 years with them, trying to get something started and they did not hold up to their end of the bargain. I agree with what you guys are saying. Buyer beware!!!

ARE YOU FAMILIAR WITH THE COVERALL COMMERCIAL CLEANING FRANCHISE?

IS COVERALL A SCAM OR LEGITIMATE FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITY? 

SHARE A COMMENT BELOW.

Also read:

JAN-PRO Franchise Complaints

JANI-KING Franchise Complaints

JAN-PRO: Janitorial Franchise Warning

JANITORIAL FRANCHISE ISSUES

FTC Guide to Buying a Janitorial Services Franchise

FTC’s Janitorial Franchise Buyer’s Guide

 

 





178 thoughts on “COVERALL Franchise Complaints

  • July 21, 2015 at 9:18 am
    Permalink

    Brian is exactly right. Coverall does serious damage to our entire industry by driving down our prices. I’ve been in business since 1981 and have been very successful. But seeing Coverall business cards land on my customers desks makes me cringe. Their lowball pricing tactics are disgraceful. I’ve often thought about whether or not i could take legal action against them simply for that. It does affect our earning potential to have to compete with these unreasonably low prices.

  • August 11, 2015 at 5:10 pm
    Permalink

    @Cheryl,

    It’s not just Coverall, as Brian and others have stated they all operate by that same business model, and are basically just “sales units” for contracts. They are ‘bottom feeders’ and their pricing reflects that. I was with Coverall for a short time, couldn’t believe the absolute cr@p offered in business. On my own (again) now.
    Like you ,I operated a small janitorial business in the ’80s for a few years, franchise pricing is still there.

    People, you DO NOT NEED a cleaning franchise! You CAN do this on your own, not that hard and low overhead, just research online(as you’re probably doing, since you ended up here..).

    You’re welcome…

    ;)

  • September 3, 2015 at 2:20 pm
    Permalink

    I am currently working with Coverall. They care more about their brand. They can care less about building yours. I made the mistake of investing $9000 in May. It is September and I only have 1/2 of the business owed to me. This is a HORRIBLE INVESTMENT.

  • September 3, 2015 at 2:23 pm
    Permalink

    You will never own any business, they make sure the customers know it is Coverall cleaning not ypur company name. They are just recycling business from owner to owner, but it will always be Coveralls contract. Once you terminate your contract with Coverall you have to forfeit all business even, if you brought it to them. BAD INVESTMENT

  • December 3, 2015 at 2:41 am
    Permalink

    Deberíamos de formar un grupo de personas a nivel nacional alguien tiene que parar esto creo k Unidos todos podríamos tener éxito yo estoy igual k todos este es un fraude les dejo mi correo electrónico estoy con coverall y no recibo nada trabajo gratis y tengo una deuda de 14000 dólares en invertí 10.000 no es justo mi correo electrónico es [redacted] contactenme quien. Este de acuerdo

    Sorry, but we don’t allow personal contact information in the comments section. If you would like to connect with others, contact ADMIN at UnhappyFranchisee[at]gmail.com to coordinate on a confidential basis. ADMIN

  • January 4, 2016 at 3:12 pm
    Permalink

    Coverall is a scam they take all your money and make you work like a dog

  • January 25, 2016 at 3:03 pm
    Permalink

    Totally agree with everyone’s comment here. They keep adding extra stuff to my contract and the price does not change.

    Is there anyway we all could come together and put a stop to it?

  • March 6, 2016 at 10:03 pm
    Permalink

    Any suggestions on how to walk away from Coverall? I still owe them for the franshise, I have 3 contracts but I already paid them in full?

  • March 6, 2016 at 10:05 pm
    Permalink

    These people make you work like crazy. You have no life!

  • March 24, 2016 at 1:04 pm
    Permalink

    You dont know what you are getting yourself into starting a franchise you pay all this money in and you dont see no money come out… you pay and pay and work and work and you never see your worth!! they keep you locked in though.. and you dont make enough money ro hire help so you end up running around like a chicken with your head cut off in an attempt to try and at least make your money back!! Its true they give you accounts that always seem to find something wrong with your service, after you have paid to even take the account, youi dont see any money from paying them for the account, Example i paid 450 down for a 250 dollar a month account i still owed them 500 for this account 3 days in to the account without no one addressing me about a problem or a complaint i was replaced I asked so what no what about the money that i paid to have the account!! they claim i will get business owed i would love to see that hell i would love to see money i gave them returned to be honest.. just give me back my money because im sure the next franchise owner had to pay for the account so they have just made 1000 off there own franchisees i would csll this a PONZI SCHEME!!! they make all this money from buying and selling there own account for real…… you have to ask yourself are these people friends with the so called field consultants? if you have the money to invest if you have managed to save up 15k to invest in a franchise your are capable of simply work and doubling thing with whatever you where doing to save up that 15k everyone is all smiles untill the check clears and they all recieve there money, then you become a stranger you are nothing more then cow they can milk when they deem necessary!!!!

  • June 1, 2016 at 6:00 pm
    Permalink

    Luis,my friend wanted out so she found someone who was wanting to take over her business so she told coverall that she was selling her accounts to the person so coverall bought her accounts back and sold them to the other person.of course she didn’t get what she payed for them.but she did get some money out of it.Yoy need to tell coverall that you want to sell your accounts back to them if they say no tell them that you are going to talk to your customers and let them know your not going to be able to clean their building because your not making any money and that they need to call coverall and cancel with coverall and go with another cleaning company.explain to them what’s going on.but let coverall know your going to talk to your customers it’s your business you payed for those accounts so if they don’t buy them back you just have to take your loss and coverall will lose them to and coverall does not want that I’m sure. Or if you are in really good with your customers and they are satisfied with your cleaning you could get someone else you could trust to go in and bid the job in their name of course the person bidding them would have to get a business license and insurance .then maybe you and the person could work together.cause you can not bid any of the places yourself until you have been out of that building for 1 year but someone you know or family can do what they want cause they don’t work for coverall.just saying.let me know what they say.my friend he is so happy he got out of that company.Or you can choose to talk to a lawyer.I can’t tell you what to do cause I only know what my friend told me. GOOD LUCK!!!.

  • June 2, 2016 at 10:59 am
    Permalink

    Lol it’s so true

  • July 17, 2016 at 6:29 pm
    Permalink

    Coverall yes worse investment ever thieves that take ur hard Hearne cash

  • August 16, 2016 at 10:09 am
    Permalink

    They only care about there self not the Franchise Owners don’t do it my friend work there for a year and has not got paid

  • August 16, 2016 at 7:21 pm
    Permalink

    I’m shocked it’s not closed down yet they treat franchise owners like there stupid

  • September 30, 2016 at 4:10 pm
    Permalink

    Esta compañia es un fraude solo se benefician ellos son unos rateros deberia a ver un lugar donde pudieranos buscar ayuda para demandar a esta compañia por fraude

  • October 31, 2016 at 8:15 pm
    Permalink

    I want to get out but they told me I can’t because I still owe them money from the note payment an if I want out I have to pay 11+k I need help how can I get out

  • December 15, 2016 at 1:57 am
    Permalink

    Guys you are all correct about coverall they are the biggest scam artist of all time my husband I been with coverall for two years the first week of only working just one account was a whole month work. we are working for pennies let’s put it this way we are working for free (free labor everybody) we feel like we are living in a third world country. I have discussed this situation to the field consultant all the way up to the general manager about the way they biding
    these accounts too little money for the work. At this point they don’t care once you sign the contact if you dont figure it out on time after two years. just finish your term and get out as fast as you can take your losses and run better yet hire a lawyer and sue them they all deserve to be in jail for stealing your hard earn money. That what I’m about to do. One other thing I just remember guys the statement you get with your check study it front and back is a little complicated to confuse you but once you study it you would understand it. take your time and do the math everything is going to add so you won’t notice anything missing , but double check it triple check it l promise you you will find money missing that belong to you and they will denied it. I recommend you get a lawyer.

  • December 15, 2016 at 1:59 am
    Permalink

    Guys you are all correct about coverall they are the biggest scam artist of all alltime my husband I been with coverall for two years the first week of only working just one account was a whole month work. we are working for pennies let’s put it this way we are working for free (free labor everybody) we feel like we are living in a third world country. I have discussed this situation to the field consultant all the way up to the general manager about the way they biding
    these accounts too little money for the work. At this point they don’t care once you sign the contact if you dont figure it out on time after two years. just finish your term and get out as fast as you can take your losses and run better yet hire a lawyer and sue them they all deserve to be in jail for stealing your hard earn money. That what I’m about to do. One other thing I just remember guys the statement you get with your check study it front and back is a little complicated to confuse you but once you study it you would understand it. take your time and do the math everything is going to add so you won’t notice anything missing , but double check it triple check it l promise you you will find money missing that belong to you and they will denied it. I recommend you get a lawyer.

  • January 8, 2017 at 12:00 pm
    Permalink

    Wao, how did you all know that coverall is a bunch of con-artists working there. I got money from my 401k in 2009 and invested with the New Jersey branch. They showed me their success stories and the amount of profit i will make and they even showed me names of people that had made it big with them, I was properly brainwashed and fell for everything. I was given the account of someone that didn’t need a cleaner. Its an awful tale. My name is Ezekiel. I didn’t know a lot of other people fell for it. They need to be stopped before people start committing suicide. They will tie your hands with their policies and procedures so that you can’t sue them.

  • February 28, 2017 at 1:52 pm
    Permalink

    Don’t take your hard earn money and Franchise with coverall it’s a scam,. Please don’t Franchise with Coverall

  • February 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm
    Permalink

    I lefted with out warning I’m not letting them play me like that fuck them and them contracts ….Cleveland Ohio they the worse

  • March 7, 2017 at 7:24 am
    Permalink

    Yes this a scam lie all the time they make more money than u try to give you all the hard work then they make all the money hoping you will quit and still have to pay them money you pay for r/s and they don’t support you all there self an the customer been there for a year haven’t seen a 1000$ check but one time an then I had to work 7 days a week in a restaurant with office material then they got 200 of top plus told me I’ll loss my contract if I didn’t do the work I’m trying to get out this scam if anyone know how to please let me know

  • March 11, 2017 at 2:02 pm
    Permalink

    My concern starting your own cleaning business while trying to ween off Coverall is if you get caught somehow by Coverall and are left with no income while you are trying to get your own business off the ground. Can anyone comment on this who could give some good advice?

  • March 26, 2017 at 1:22 pm
    Permalink

    I just lefted the franchise without warning don’t let the take all your hard earning like that

  • April 10, 2017 at 4:21 pm
    Permalink

    You won’t get paid for at least 2 months after you start cleaning.

    And you don’t start getting offered accounts until after paying the deposit and two months of training assuming you’ll take anything.

    They take their 15% (royalties and “support”), start-up business note and other small fees before cutting your check.

    They claim to bid accounts at the industry average, which at this time is $18.75/hour +/- in Wisconsin. In the end you might make about $10/hour before taxes because they use unrealistic formulas to calculate what they charge customers and you are paying for your own supplies and other expenses. They underbid the accounts and rely on oblivious franchise owners to accept all the work scopes at the very low bid amount.

    I had a discrepancy with an account I accepted. I accused them of intentionally offering under-bid accounts to unsuspecting new franchise owners. And finally got some “support!” I went in to meet with the manager and he had to shut his damn mouth because they didn’t even provide all of the documentation they used to calculate the bid and there were contradictions in the workscope. All for him to get to his point of meeting with me: he resented my statement about them preying on fools. His explanation was exactly the same thing I said but he added in, not verbatim, it’s not my fault you people are stupid. He still hasn’t provided me the details on how the account was calculated.

    Do I think it’s a scam? No. I think they are predators but who in corporate America isn’t? Do I regret thinking I could make some extra money on the side with Coverall. Hell yes. I think the employees are rude, unprofessional and don’t give a damn. And quite frankly, I don’t give a damn. And the customers know they are getting a very low monthly price for the work they expect but that doesn’t lower their expectations nor stop them from demanding more service for free.

    Coverall sucks and their proprietary cleaning techniques? Hardly. It’s the same shit we learned in elementary health class and nothing you can’t google. Kill germs, duh. Microfibers are absorbent, duh. Flat mops are quicker than string mops, duh. Non-compete agreement so you can’t use that information without paying them 15%? Unless you are doing all the work yourself on speed or whatever drug makes you move super fast, without having to pay employees, you really can’t make much money.

  • August 22, 2017 at 11:58 pm
    Permalink

    We are franchises from Fresno Ca and Coverall is a predator company that devours its franchises terribly under bidding contracts just to get the business then pass the unrealistic chores to a franchise that is unsuspecting of their predatory business practices.. They always make more money than us. Between the crappy inferior cleaning products and the gas used to get to the jobs’ at the end if the month and after adding and subtracting you are barely making it.. One ridiculous charged fee after another on each months statement WE ARE BEING ROBBED!! COVERALL IS A PREDATOR COMPANY AND THEY SHOULD BE PROSECUTED AS CRIMMINALS!! we are on the west coast where the cost of living is the highest in America but they dont care because its CROOKED BUSINESS AS USUAL FRANCHISING WITH THOSE CROOKS IS ONE OF MY LIFES BIGGEST MISTAKES!!!!!!

  • October 5, 2017 at 4:17 am
    Permalink

    I am so glad to have read all the reviews! Was ready to make a phone call and start cleaning franchise with this company. You guys are truly a life saver!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *